My first “real” spring festival experience!

My first Spring Festival with a Chinese family! Read about the different customs we observed, learn a bit about the spring festival itself and most importantly see what I got to eat! 🙂

Soul Canvas

img_1095I have experienced 3 spring festivals here in Baoding since moving here as a student but this year’s is the first that I actually spent with a Chinese family. Since it’s the quietest time of the year I usually spend it in my room. Luckily, this year, together with another friend, I was invited to spend it with a Chinese family.

Spring festival is a very big deal here, like huuuuge! To put it into context most Chinese people work 24/7, especially those that run their own businesses, there is no such thing as a weekend in China. The restaurants, banks, shops etc are open everyday with the same working hours (no shorter hours on weekends). I don’t know how they do it, we get 2 days off every week back home and still whine about being tired. But when the spring festival arrives they get to shut down their…

View original post 890 more words

Leave a Reply

