Bacon wrapped sirloin steak

on

???????????????????????????????I am pretty bad at making steaks. I know that’s pretty ridiculous given that making a good steak only requires one to do 3 things: season the steak, sear it and grill/roast for 10 minutes or less. It is really straight forward but for some reason I always get it wrong. I would aim for a well done juicy steak and end up with a rock hard piece of meat.

But those problems are no more! I finally got it right! I decided to be clinical about it and it paid off. I looked up at least 4 recipes and had my timer near by too. First and foremost I had to make sure I bought a good cut of meat. For that I now depend on Checkers, Spar lost me because Checkers seem to have a better overall selection of meat. I got a pack of 3 thick cut sirloin steaks that were pre-seasoned with herbs and pepper for about P56. The pricing of course depends on the weight so you decide how much you want to spend.

I cut each steak into 2 pieces to make them easier to wrap in bacon. I did not add any additional spices, they were perfect as they were. Recipe below.

Ingredients

  • sirloin steak
  • bacon (streaky bacon is best)
  • toothpicks
  • oil for frying
  • spices for seasoning, black pepper and salt are sufficient if you want to keep it minimal.

Method

  1. After it is defrosted (if it was frozen) let the steak sit at room temperature for an hour or 2. I usually defrost meat by submerging the bag the meat is in in a bowl of water rather than using a microwave. raw steak
  2. Wrap the steaks with bacon and secure bacon with toothpicks.bacon wrapped steak
  3. Preheat your oven to 180 C.
  4. Heat oil in a frying pan or griddle pan if you have one. The oil must be very hot, the meat should sizzle when it touches the pan. Sear both sides of each steak for 2-4 minutes on each side. Try to keep the flipping minimal, ideally you should only need to flip once.searing steaks
  5. The bacon should cook at the same time but if needed, flip the steak on to the bacon side to cook it.
  6. If your frying pan/griddle pan is oven safe, place it straight into the oven for 5-10 minutes depending how well done you want the steak to be. If you don’t have an oven safe pan, transfer the steaks into a roasting tray.roasting steak
  7. Remove from the oven, let the steaks sit in the tray or on a wire rack for 10 minutes before serving. This will let the steak reabsorb it’s juices in order to make keep it moist and flavorful.
  8. If you want your steak less well done, reduce the time that it’s in the oven or skip the oven stage for a rarer steak.

TIP: You can press the steak lightly to determine whether it is well done, medium rare or rare. If it feels If its soft like poking your cheek its rare, if its firm like poking your forehead its well done and if its in the middle like your forearm its medium.

well done steak

My steak was in the oven for 10 minutes and rested for 2 minutes. It was well done but still juicy. Perfect! Next time I want to try making a medium rare steak.

My steaks also released quite a lot of juices into the roasting tray so I poured off about half  5 minutes in to prevent my steaks from semi boiling in the liquid and ruining my sear.

The times vary ever so slightly depending on how well done you want your steak done, so it’s best to search for a specific recipe online to follow rather than estimating. Make sure you have your timer close and do not miss a step!

I had my steak with potato wedges and roasted veggies. May I just say, bacon makes everything taste better!

???????????????????????????????

Leave a Reply

