Yogurt baked Slinger

on

I have gone fish crazy lately! It’s all I want to eat! Well, that and pork ribs, but that may not count because I want to eat ribs all the time anyway.

But back to the matter at hand, I love fish and lately the universe has conspired to help me find a variety of fish at reasonable prices. My roommate sold me 4 giant Sea bream the other day and when I sauntered into Food Lovers last week, I found Slinger, Carp and Smoked Haddock at criminally low prices. I didn’t do anything extravagant with the sea bream or haddock but I will share my Carp and Slinger experiences.

Slinger is actually also from the bream family but has a very different look, a lot more….what’s the word…creepy?

Screenshot_2014-05-14-16-46-39~2

 

It was an absolute nightmare to de-fin and butterfly but I soldiered through it, almost losing a nail in the process. To make life easier if you ever do attempt this, make sure your knife is very sharp and go slow so as to not chop off your finger.

The recipe I decided to use for inspiration was from The Wednesday Chef, view here. I had a tub of yogurt and no plan for it so I decided to try it out. The original recipe is Indian inspired and intended for Cod (or Haddock) but any white fish will do.

Ingredients

  • One big de-finned and butterflied fish (or just use fillet if you prefer)
  • 1 tub of plain yogurt
  • Spices/herbs of your choice
  • Lemon juice
  • Garlic (crushed)
  • Ginger (crushed)
  • Some butter cut up into small cubes/pieces
  • 1 tsp sugar

Method

  1. Mix the spice/herbs with the yogurt, lemon juice, ginger, garlic and butter.??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????
  2. Lay the fish in a baking tray and cover it in the yogurt mixture. Ensure you have some butter inside the fish, under it and on side facing up.???????????????????????????????
  3. Cover with foil and place into a preheated oven at 180 degrees C for 20-30 minutes or until fish flakes away easily with a fork. The sauce will separate during baking. Being the forgetful person I am, I left the fish in the oven a tad bit too long but luckily I managed not to burn it, just the sauce. *blushes*???????????????????????????????

I decided to pair my fish with a creamy mushroom sauce because on it’s own it slightly lacked flavour. I’m sure any flavourful sauce would have been appropriate. However this is not to say it can’t be eaten on it’s own.??????????????????????????????? I also had baked potatoes and squash with it, simply heavenly. I had a friend over for dinner so I split the fish in half. I would definitely have this fish again! It was delicious!???????????????????????????????

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Nangamso says:

    Mhhh looks delicious! I like that the ingredients are simple and it’s ones that are mostly available in one’s grocery cupboard or fridge. I will look out for this fish in future

  2. SMK says:

    Yum! May I share a recipe on your blog sometime. Getting back to my love for cooking 🙂

    1. Brandy says:

      Yes please! I love learning from others 🙂

Leave a Reply

