Honey and mustard gammon steak

I LOVE pork!! With everything in my being! It is the only meat I will not sacrifice when my wallet is choking, come hell or high water I find a way to work pork into my student budget.

Ordinarily I would buy pork chops from Spar but I recently discovered the pork section at Checkers and haven’t looked back since. They have every part of the pig that is edible (that is when people have not bought out the store). Aside from the usual parts, I spotted gammon and pork neck which I had never tried before. And now they’re the only pork parts I want to buy. If it’s not in stock, I hold out till it is.

Gammon, according to wikipedia, is the hind leg of pork cut from a side of bacon after curing. It may or may not be smoked. Like bacon, it needs to be cooked before it can be eaten. It may be sold on-the-bone or boned and rolled. It tastes very much like ham. I like mine as a steak. Though a pack of 2 or 3 steaks will set you back about 60 Pula depending on the weight, you get your money’s worth because the steaks can be cut into 2 so in actuality you get 4-6 steaks.

One steak....
One steak….

 

...becomes two steaks!
…becomes two steaks!

 

For my first time making gammon I decided the simpler the better and went for an easy grilled honey and mustard gammon steak recipe. However, I didn’t actually have mustard though I had honey. I decided to be creative and use Knorr’s creamy honey and mustard salad dressing instead. It worked like a charm! I don’t even want to try the same recipe with actual honey and mustard anymore. Details below…

Ingredients

  • Spices of your choice i.e. Pepper, paprika, herbs, cayenne pepper etc
  • Knorr creamy honey and mustard salad dressing

Method

  1. To prevent the gammon curling up, cut into the fat at 1cm intervals around the edge of the gammon or alternatively you can cut it off completely.
  2. Season the steak with the spices of your choice.???????????????????????????????
  3. Place under a hot grill and turn over after 5 minutes or so.
  4. When both sides are almost done, baste with the honey and mustard salad dressing and leave for an additional minute.

    All done!
    All done!

You do not need to add any fat (butter or oil) to the steak to grill it because it has quite a lot of fat in it already. If you do want to add a fat, add very little.

I had mine with green beans, carrots and a yummy serving of fluffy creamy mashed potatoes. I LIVE for this meal!!! Pork is undoubtedly the best thing to happen to my stomach!???????????????????????????????

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Caw this sounds nice. Thanks for posting this up.

    Simon

    1. Brandy says:

      Thank you for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

