Horse Mackerel and red rice

IMG_8701While doing my regular shopping in Spar some time back, I spotted a fish that I hadn’t seen before. On the label of the long skinny fish was “Maasbanker”. With the aid of Google I later found out that it was actually Horse Mackerel. It is in the same family as tuna so one can imagine what the flesh and texture is like and the flavour too.???????????????????????????????

I could not find any exciting recipes online beyond grilling it till Jamie Oliver came to the rescue. I made an attempt to imitate his Crispy skin mackerel with an Asian inspired dressing recipe-a feeble attempt at that. I didn’t have all the ingredients he required so I improvised. Improvised recipe below.

Ingredients

  • 2 mackerel
  • 1 onion, diced
  • Coriander
  • 1/2 tsp of crushed chilli
  • 2 tsps honey and mustard salad dressing
  • 2 tbsps soy sauce
  • 1 tsp garlic and ginger paste
  • black pepper
  • 4 tbsps olive oil
  • 2 tbsps lemon/lime juice

Method

  1. I opted to grill my mackerel rather that cook it in a griddle like Jamie Oliver. I butterflied the fish before seasoning it with some pepper and coriander. I sprinkled some olive oil on it and grilled it for about 15-20 minutes at 180C, turning it over half way.??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????
  2. I then mixed the “Asian” dressing by combining the remaining ingredients. Because I substituted the honey and mustard dressing for the honey in Jamie’s recipe, my dressing was a lot thicker than his.???????????????????????????????
  3. I placed the mackerel on some red rice and poured the dressing on top. And that’s it!

I must say I am not a fan of mackerel. I had tried it 2 other ways previous to this recipe and they fish didn’t stand out there either. It is very difficult to eat as a whole fish because of the complicated skeleton it has, it would be better as a fillet. Personally I’m not a fan of the taste, however, I was told it works better in a salad like tuna so maybe that would be the best approach because salads have many ingredients that would mask the taste for me.???????????????????????????????

On a good note, the Asian inspired dressing was lovely! I saved some of it to put on steak later that day. But because of my dislike for raw onions, I will probably leave out the onions next time I make it.

Leave a Reply

