Stir fried pork kidney

on

???????????????????????????????I am a huge fan of pork so naturally when I saw a couple of healthy looking pork kidneys in Checkers (airport junction branch) I couldn’t resist picking them up. It ended up being the first and last time that I would buy, cook and eat pork kidney. It just wasn’t pleasing to my taste buds and the smell of the kidney is, for the lack of a better word, offensive. It smells horrid and as a result I wasn’t too eager to eat if after having my senses assaulted during the preparation. However, I decided I would share the process anyway in case someone out there doesn’t feel the way I do about it. There is a way to reduce the pungent odour of the kidney but I cut that corner thinking it wouldn’t matter once the food was cooked but I was wrong.???????????????????????????????

I hunted for recipes and eventually settled on an Asian style ginger pork kidney stir fry recipe. I have since misplaced the link to the exact recipe I used for guidance however there are plenty for one to choose from on Google.

Because I have misplaced the recipe, I don’t remember the quantities I used but one could easily wing it and let taste guide you. Recipe below:

Ingredients

  • 2 pork kidneys sliced
  • onions, sliced into strips
  • green pepper, cut into strips
  • mushrooms, chopped
  • soy sauce
  • garlic and ginger, grated
  • oil for frying
  • sugar/honey
  • cooking wine

Method

  1. To get rid of/reduce the smell of the kidney soak it in salty water for 25-30 minutes, rinse then scald the kidneys in boiling water and drain.
  2. Fry kidneys.??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????
  3. Add ginger, garlic and onions till done.???????????????????????????????
  4. Add mushrooms.???????????????????????????????
  5. Add soy, sugar/honey and the wine. Stir to combine ingredients (add a thickener like cornstarch and water if you wish)???????????????????????????????

Like I said, not exactly my favourite dish so I doubt I’ll make it again. I had it with pasta and a simple salad.

???????????????????????????????

6 Comments Add yours

  1. gabslivin says:

    I am more interested in that pasta in the background…

    1. Brandy says:

      hahahaha!!! very simple pasta and mushrooms with a cheese sauce.

      1. gabslivin says:

        🙂 Looks YUM! Reminds me of some restaurant in Rustenburg Waterfall mall that serves portions so large one can eat the same pasta dish for days… Used to buy and store single servings in the freezer for thawing and eating over 3 days… LOL..

      2. Brandy says:

        hahahaha!!! sounds like my kind of restaurant!

  2. JY says:

    Hey there, you’re supposed to cut out the whitish middle part of the kidney.
    It’s the source of the offending smell. Did you miss that step?

    1. Brandy says:

      No I didn’t miss it, it was the first thing I did.

Leave a Reply

