Quiche without cream

???????????????????????????????I have eaten some yummy quiche’s in my short life but I had never tried to make one…till now! It was one of my holiday projects. I would prefer to make one with cream however it wasn’t available when I needed it so I had to improvise.

I used a recipe from Cyder  with Eloise but unlike her I cut a few corners and added a few ingredients. If you want to do it from scratch, refer to her blog.

Ingredients

  • Store bought short crust pastry

Filling

  • Some strips of bacon
  • Butter for frying or oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 green/red pepper, chopped
  • Half a cup of grated cheese (I used cheddar)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1 cup of spinach
  • Herbs of your choice for flavor

Method

  1. Take the short crust pastry and roll it out so it just fits in a pie dish. Blind bake at 180 C for 15 to 20 minutes. Refer to end of post for instructions on blind baking.???????????????????????????????
  2. Saute onions, pepper, bacon and spinach. Be sure not to brown the onions or over fry the bacon as it will taint the taste of the quiche. Remove from heat and put aside to cool.???????????????????????????????
  3. Add 2/3rds of the cheese and herbs to the cooled mixture.
  4. Beat eggs, add milk, stir and add to the filling mixture. ???????????????????????????????
  5. Pour mixture into the pie crust and sprinkle remaining cheese on top. Bake uncovered for 45 minutes at 180 C and serve warm. ???????????????????????????????

How to blind bake: Place pastry in non stick pie dish, line bottom of the pastry with non stick baking paper then fill crust with rice, dried beans, or metal or ceramic baking weights. (This stops the pastry base rising during cooking.) Place on a baking tray and cook in an oven preheated to 180 C for 8-10 minutes. Remove the pastry case from the oven and remove the baking paper and rice, dried beans or baking weights. Cook for a further 5-10 minutes (depending on the size of the pastry case) or until light golden.

My quiche doesn’t look as pretty as the pictures online but it still tasted good. I must work on my presentation skills! My pastry was very shallow so I didn’t actually use all the filling because it would have overflowed. ???????????????????????????????The filling was not as firm as I would have liked it so next time I try this recipe I may reduce the amount of milk slightly to allow the eggs to set more. I’ll also try one with cream in the future and see which I prefer. My family finished it in one sitting so I think it’s safe to say they approved! ???????????????????????????????

Leave a Reply

