Simple chicken yogurt and cashew curry

???????????????????????????????So I have decided to take my curry making up a notch once again, trying my hand at a yogurt based curry also known as a korma. Technically korma curries can be made with yogurt, cream, nut and seed pastes or coconut milk. Having done a coconut milk based curry, I decided to try out a yogurt one this time. I am a sucker for a cream curry, specifically butter chicken! I’m pretty sure I could live off it. And that will certainly be the next curry I shall try out.

But back to the matter at hand, I loved this curry so much I made it twice. The second time I added cashew nuts to it to make it for interesting and it paid off. I love the texture the nuts give to the dish.

So without further ado, here’s the simple recipe:

Ingredients

  • Oil for frying chicken
  • Chicken pieces or cubed chicken breast
  • 1-2 onions, chopped
  • 2 tspns crushed garlic
  • 2 tbspns coriander
  • 1 tsp grated ginger
  • 1 tsp tumeric
  • 2 tsps cayenne pepper
  • 2 tsps garam masala
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt (low fat is also ok)
  • 2-3 red tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1 cup of cashew nuts (optional)
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 2 tsps of cinnamon

Method

  1. Heat oil and fry chicken pieces or cubes till browned.
  2. Add onion, green pepper, garlic and ginger and cook till onion is translucent. Stir in tomatoes and let simmer for 2 minutes to allow the tomatoes to soften.???????????????????????????????
  3. Add spices (excluding the cinnamon) and salt and stir till all the chicken is well coated.
  4. Add the nuts then follow with about half a cup of water and the yogurt, stir and add more water if need be.??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
  5. Leave pot covered at a medium to low heat to simmer for 20-30 minutes or until chicken in done. Check it every 10 minutes and add more water if the level becomes too low. ???????????????????????????????
  6. Before removing the curry from the heat, taste it! If it is too hot, you can temper it with some cinnamon or crushed tomatoes to the curry.

And that’s it! I can pretty much make this curry in my sleep now, so easy! If you are a curry pro feel free to use spices you prefer and even add chilli powder if you can handle it. The sweetness of cinnamon helps reverse any spice overkill that may accidentally happen, as it often happens to me (I’m a tad bit liberal with cayenne pepper).

The yogurt plays the role of thickening agent too but if it’s still too liquid, add some water mixed with cornstarch (or even baking flour) to thicken the stew. Mixing the cornstarch with a little water before adding to the stew helps prevent lumps.???????????????????????????????

I had it with red rice cooked in coconut milk the first time I made it and the second time I made it I took it with me to a friends “Bring a dish” dinner and my casserole dish returned empty.

IMG_6822

Go on and give it a try, you’ll find it hard to make a curry any other way! 🙂

6 Comments Add yours

  1. gabslivin says:

    Looks heavenly delicious… Indian is one of my favorite cuisines and I love a good Korma! Butter Chicken is one of my favorites but I stay away because of the HUGE calorie count. I also love Tandoori and Kadai so please consider trying those in the near future… Maybe I should join your team and become a freelancer posting some of my recipes… just a thought. 😉

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Oh please do!!! That would be awesome. I had an obsession with Tandoori as a child but I rarely eat it now, butter chicken has my heart! Mutton kadai is also one of my favourites…hmmm….going to look up recipes now! 🙂

  2. gabslivin says:

    Ok hun! Will post my heavenly red velvet cake recipe… Most on the internet are red cakes without the velvet texture but I tried and tested till I hit the velvet texture on the head recently… Will share (with pics when I next bake)… Studying for exams at the moment so give me a few weeks. 🙂 xoxo

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Awesome! I’d love to try your recipe because red velvet is my weakness, never get it right! 😦

    2. Ms Z. says:

      Oh and good luck with your exams! 🙂

Leave a Reply

