A light dinner at Liban Restaurant

???????????????????????????????If there’s one thing I love about the ever expanding city of Gaborone it’s the increased variety in places one can eat out. When I go out to eat, I’m looking to eat food that I would struggle to make on my own at home. After all, unless the aim is to save time, why buy food you can make just as well if not better than the restaurants?

So I am  incredibly excited at the fact that we now have a Lebanese restaurant in Gaborone! So excited that my friends and I decided to give it a test run the day it opened to the public which was this last Friday. I have never made Lebanese food nor had I tasted it before visiting the restaurant. ???????????????????????????????

The location is fabulous, they definitely lucked out in that department. They are located on the 2nd floor of the iTowers in the new CBD and the balcony of the restaurant faces the High court and square mart. Stunning views are hard to come by in this city so they were already winning as soon as I sat down. I felt like I was in a big bustling city and not little hot Gaborone.???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????Guests can choose to sit outside on the balcony or inside the restaurant. The balcony is of course more popular given the high temperatures this city is known for. The interior design is beautiful, very classy but simple at the same time. My favorite area has to be the booth seats that are inside. ???????????????????????????????There are 2 bars, one inside and one on the outside. They also have a shisha “bar” and you can order one for your table for P100. A dedicated shisha waiter will service your shisha when needed and they also provide plastic nozzles for patrons for hygiene’s sake.??????????????????????????????? IMG_8119

Service wise, as with most places here, you’re pretty much drawing a straw. Our waitress was lazy and as soon as she got a bigger table she pretty much forgot about us. We then got another waiter called Pako who did an amazing job! He was always never too far and brought our orders in a timely manner. He checked on us constantly and was very polite. I will definitely look for him when I go there again.

The food was interesting….I think I ordered all the wrong things for my taste buds though. I went for light meals and only those from the Lebanese section of the menu (there is an international section for the less daring) I had a folafel first which is “a deep-fried ball or patty made from ground chickpeas, fava beans, or both. Falafel is a traditional Arab food, usually served in a pita, which acts as a pocket, or wrapped in a flatbread known as lafa”.IMG_8095 It was decent, my friends loved it, but I didn’t like it too much. I then ordered a flat bread with mince which came with a lemon and chilli powder. IMG_8112I appreciated the flat bread but the mince lacked flavor for me. I would have liked a hotter chilli powder to add some excitement to it. I also tried a mixed grill platter that my friend ordered which came with hummus and I was won over by the chicken. IMG_8108

In general Lebanese food is said to be very healthy so don’t expect heavy meaty fatty dishes. Most are light and some are pretty much vegetarian. I am told the best way to eat Lebanese food is to order a meze which is a selection of small dishes a group of people can share. So next time I am there with a group of friends, that is what I shall do.

IMG_8129We also sampled some Lebanese alcohol, the first being Almaza beer. It’s a very light beer and quite suitable for suitable for women. Then we tried a milky liquorish flavored spirit which is not for the faint hearted!

IMG_8104I do not know what it is called but we were told to drink it on the rocks with no chaser or mixer, one sip was more than enough for me!

All in all it is a great place to have dinner and the ambiance is nice and mellow. Lebanese music plays in the background while you gaze at the view and sip on a cocktail. Perfect for dates and family outings too. There is no dress code but given the feel of the location you will want to put on some decent threads to look the part. Go on and give it a try, its a lovely addition to Gaborone’s small collection of restaurants.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kanyo says:

    looks interesting! ^_^

Leave a Reply

