Grilled Kudu

???????????????????????????????I generally eat 3 types of protein: chicken, fish and pork. I’m not really a fan of red meat but I do eat it when I don’t have to cook it. But recently I was in the mood to switch it up so this past weekend I reached for something I never have before in Spars meat section, some kudu and Eland. Both are very lean meats, high in protein and low in fat, so yay for #TeamHealthy!

I had not a clue in terms of what to do with them but I settled on an Eland stew and grilled Kudu. I started with the easier one, grilled Kudu and followed advice from this article. Recipe below:

Ingredients

  • 2 kudu steaks
  • 1 cup of plain yogurt
  • Spices of your choice (I used cayenne pepper, black pepper, steak spice and mixed herbs)
  • 1 tsp of minced garlic
  • 2 tbspns of lemon juice
  • 2 tbspn of soy sauce.
  • 1 tbspn of olive oil

Method

  1. Mix yogurt, spices, garlic, lemon juice, soy sauce and olive oil to make a marinade.
  2. Let the meat marinate for a couple of hours.???????????????????????????????
  3. Place the meat on a grill (or under a grill if you’re using an oven like I did) and cook for 4-5 minutes for a medium steak. Cook it for less time if you like it more rare, longer (about 10-12 minutes if you want it more well done. ???????????????????????????????However avoid cooking it too long because it will dry out. Cooking times do depend on the size so the thicker the steak, the longer it needs to cook.
  4. Let it rest for 3-5 minutes after it cooks then enjoy!???????????????????????????????

I had my steak with sweet potato and a simple lettuce salad. I would have liked it to be a little more towards medium but I’ll get it right next time, even if it means standing next to the oven with a timer! 🙂 I like the meat though and still have one steak remaining which I’m now dying to cook because my own pictures are making me hungry…..haha!

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

Leave a Reply

