Mini dumplings/madombi in stew

???????????????????????????????I am a HUGE fan of madombi or dumplings which are part of the local cuisine here in Botswana. I’ve only ever had the big ones but some time back, I found a recipe for sweetcorn dumplings with chicken stew and I finally made the time to try out the recipe. I opted for a liver and chicken heart stew instead of the chicken out of preference. I can’t get enough of chicken liver!

Since I was only cooking for one, I reduced the quantities by half. I won’t include the stew preparation in the recipe because I’m sure anyone reading this knows how to make a basic stew. (Fry meat, add onions, tomato and spice, add stock and boil).

Important tip: Use a big pot!!!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups cake flour
  • 1/2 cup sweet corn
  • 1 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 5g instant yeast
  • 1 cups of lukewarm water

Method

The preparation method is pretty much the same as normal dumplings, the only difference is that you add cooked sweetcorn to the dough and make smaller sized dumplings. View the pictures below:

???????????????????????????????IMG_6248Add the water a little at a time to make the dough. I did not need to use the whole cup of water to make the dough. It should not be too soft nor too stiff. ???????????????????????????????After kneading it for 3 minutes I covered the bowl with a damp cloth and let it rise.???????????????????????????????

Once I got my stew boiling on medium heat, I added the mini dumplings. Do not submerge them completely into the stew, they must sit on the surface or they will soak up too much moisture and become solid (I made that mistake!). Reduce the stock if necessary to allow the dumplings to rest on the meat. Ensure that your pot has ample space for the dumplings to rise. Cover and simmer for 30 minutes or so.???????????????????????????????

If you have left over dumplings like I did, steam them separately in another pot (add half a cup of water to the pot, place the dumplings inside and steam on low/medium heat for 20-30 minutes.

I added carrots, green beans and sweetcorn to my stew so that I had a complete meal in one! Haha! I love this dish, and next time I will try it with wholewheat flour.  Delicious!

???????????????????????????????

5 Comments Add yours

  1. SinahMo says:

    Wow..i tried this today,oh my goodness so yummy.I could never cook dumplings and get it right..all the time its a disaster..chappies-like.. 😀 but today they were fluffy and just perfect. I made chicken stew and boy oh boy 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing.

    1. Ms Z. says:

      That’s awesome!!! Glad it worked out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

