Food in Mozambique!

Since I have finally completed my Mozambican holiday recaps on Soul Canvas, I thought it was time for me to share some of the food we had over the 3 days we were there. The logical choice for every meal was seafood of course being that Mozambique is right next to the Indian ocean. Eating meat while there would be silly!

I am only going to include the food we bought while out and about and not the food we had at my hosts house. To start with, lets look at what we had at Paraiso de Chidenguele which was our lodge at the beach in Chidenguele.

Prawn cakes
Prawn cakes
Grilled Bream and fries
Grilled Bream and fries
Grilled prawns and fries
Grilled prawns and fries
Calamari and fries
Calamari and fries

By far my favorite of the meals was the prawn cakes, absolutely delicious! The fish came in a close second because it was perfectly cooked. The prices of the meals ranged from 300-500 Mets so that’s between 10 and 20 dollars. We chose lighter meals for dinner aside from my cousin who opted for Crayfish.

???????????????????????????????
Crayfish salad
???????????????????????????????
Another type of seafood starter, don’t recall it’s name.
???????????????????????????????
Crayfish and rice
Catch of the day and rice
Catch of the day and rice
Seafood pizza
Seafood pizza

The Seafood pizza was absolutely awful! I think the combination of seafood just didn’t work very well. It tasted better cold the next day though.

Back in Maputo we went to an Artist fair, basically a place where souvenir items are sold including clothes, paintings and curios. They also had a food section where we indulged in some local cuisine.

Fish with a tomato sauce
Fish with a tomato sauce
Matapa (a dish made of cassava leaves and crab) and rice
Matapa (a dish made of cassava leaves and crab) and rice
Grilled Chicken, some kind of Mozambican style samp and prawn cakes.
Grilled Chicken, some kind of Mozambican style samp and prawn cakes.

The Matapa was absolutely amazing! If I had known how amazing that dish was I would have bought it first. I had the prawn cakes, chicken and samp in the picture above. I’m only calling it samp because it was similar to samp we eat in Botswana but it’s called something else there. I love the samp we get here in Botswana and so naturally I was eager to try the Mozambican version. It tasted different but in a good way. I’m not sure what it was made of but I’m sure the Internets could help me with that. I would love to recreate it.

Cakes and sweets
Cakes and sweets
My final choices
My final choices

The desserts were also good! I picked the strangest looking stuff and regretted it. Only the creamy cake sprinkled with cashew nuts on the left was good. The other two were weird.

The best part about the fair? The amazing caipirinha’s! I tasted a lemon one and a granadilla one. Both were worth the 100 Mets we paid per cup. ???????????????????????????????

And of course, we bought tons of cashew nuts on our trip too though I don’t have pictures. They are really cheap there and make a great snack.

Food wise I know we barely grazed the tip of the iceberg but it was short and sweet. I vow to return and do a proper Mozambican food tour! It’s the perfect cuisine for me because I love seafood!

Catch up on my Mozambican holiday recaps here and see what I got up to while there.

Leave a Reply

