Spicy Snoek

???????????????????????????????

Snoek is not a fish I’ve come across before and that completely makes sense to me given that I’m in a land locked country. However according to the internets this species of fish is found mainly in the southern hemisphere which is where I happen to reside. It is a long, thin, species of snake mackerel that can be anywhere between 75 and 200 cm long.

I stumbled upon this fish in Food Lovers Supermarket and it was quite reasonably priced considering its rarity here. It is sold whole, and already butterflied but it’s not filleted so there are sharp thin bones to watch out for. Since I cook for one, I knew it would last me ages. Unfortunately I didn’t take a picture of it whole because I wasn’t sure whether it would be a fail or success in the kitchen so a google image will have to do…

Snoek-2
Source

 I cut it into 3 sections horizontally and cooked one section at a time.

When you google Snoek recipes, most of the ones that come up are for braais/BBQs or grills. But because I was lazy, I first tested the recipe that came on the box. It was for grilled snoek with an orange glaze. It was decent but nothing special. The second time I tried my own very random recipe and lo and behold it was a success! So much so that I have decided to share it with A hungry African!

I didn’t have specific measurements so you’ll have to use your own discretion there. Recipe below:

Ingredients

  • Snoek, cut up into pieces if desired
  • black pepper
  • cayenne pepper
  • brown onion spice
  • soy sauce
  • lemon
  • vinegar

Method

  1. Mix spices and liquid ingredients to create a marinade and pour over fish.
    Snoek pieces
    Snoek pieces

    IMG_4358

  2. Leave for an hour or two or even overnight if possible.
  3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C). Place fish skin side down and flesh side up on a foil in a baking tray.IMG_4865
  4. Place in oven for 20-25 minutes. Fish should be no longer translucent when done.

I absolutely LOVED this recipe, so much so that I did it twice. I loved the heat of the cayenne pepper and the tartness from the lemon and vinegar. I would eat it no other way. Looks like strong sharp flavors compliment the Snoek very well. I had it with some roasted potatoes and paprika peppers sprinkled with black pepper and a spicy cheese.

???????????????????????????????

Leave a Reply

