Mexican Rice

I rarely buy sour cream, so I spotted it in the grocery store and decided I’d pick it up. I do that sometimes, buy ingredients that are interesting and then go home and figure out what to do with them. Took me a while to decide what to do with the sour cream because I was also working with a very limited pantry.

But after a few Google searches I decided that Mexican rice was a good idea. I got the recipe from All Recipes.com. It was very easy to follow and doesn’t take long to execute.  Read some of the reviews to improve the recipe a little and then got down to business! Adapted recipe below:

Ingredients

  • 1 cup uncooked rice
  • Just under 2 cups chicken broth (I used saffron water because I didn’t have chicken broth)
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup of chopped green chili peppers
  • 1 cup of shredded cheese (Look for a strong or spicy flavor that isn’t too creamy, I used a spicy Portuguese cheese)
  • 1 cup of corn
  • 1/4 cup of coriander
  • 1 teaspoon of cumin
  • 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon of garlic
  • a pinch of saffron spice

Method

  1. In a large pot, put the rice and chicken broth/saffron water on low heat, cover, and let it steam for about 20 minutes till the rice is light and fluffy.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C). Lightly grease a casserole dish or baking tin.
  3. In the pot with the cooked rice, mix the sour cream, green chili peppers, garlic, 1/2 cup shredded cheese, corn, cayenne, cumin and cilantro. Season with salt and pepper.???????????????????????????????IMG_4072 ??????????????????????????????? IMG_4082
  4. Transfer to the prepared casserole dish, and top with remaining cheese. IMG_4084
  5. Bake uncovered 30 minutes in the preheated oven, until cheese is bubbly and lightly browned.
Voila!

The result was a flavorful spicy creamy rice. I will definitely use this recipe again! It was delicious. However next time I will up the sour cream to 2 cups as suggested by many of the reviewers because it was nearing the dry side of things.

I did however add half a cup of Royce powder cheese and garlic sauce because I only had a 1/2  cup of cheese to work with. Despite my shortfalls it was still a very good dish and I can only imagine how much better it would be with the right quantities of ingredients. Oh and you can never have enough corn! Feel free to double the quantity of corn.

I had it with home made oven fried chicken. This recipe is a keeper!???????????????????????????????IMG_4093

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

