Chicken coconut curry

I am currently obsessed with anything spicy including curries so a couple weeks ago I bought a box of curry powder. I am now on a mission to use curry in any dish that will allow it! I decided to start simple with a coconut chicken curry.

I got the recipe from Simply Cooking, follow the link…

I didn’t change anything in the ingredients list though I used about half the amount of tomatoes just because I didn’t have enough, not out of choice. I didn’t go the Thai curry route so no fish sauce or Thai curry paste. I used chicken pieces in place of chopped chicken breast which takes slightly longer to cook through.

Lightly spiced chicken pieces
Lightly spiced chicken pieces

Didn’t use any garnishes though I did have shredded coconut which I forgot to add (I was that hungry! Ha!).

Method is as follows:

  1. Heat some oil over medium heat, fry the chicken till brown. Remove and set aside.???????????????????????????????
  2. Add the onion and cook until browned, about 10 minutes.???????????????????????????????
  3. Add the chicken and vegetables, stir frequently.???????????????????????????????
  4. Add the curry paste or powder and garlic, and stir-fry 1 minute.Pour in the coconut milk and bring to a bubble. Add the tomatoes and fish or soy sauce, if using.???????????????????????????????

Stir, cover and reduce the heat. Simmer 10 minutes. If using chicken pieces double the simmering time.

All done!
All done!

If you want a thicker stew like me, add a thickening agent like cornflour. Another option is to dust the chicken pieces with flour before frying, the flour coating will thicken the stew when you reach the boiling stage.

As Shannon from Simply Cooking states; the recipe is not set in stone. Feel free to add other spices like cinnamon, cumin, black pepper and even chillies! You can also use the same recipe with beef or seafood and any vegetables you favor including sweet potato.

I had my coconut chicken curry with baked potato slices. I loved this recipe, really simple and full of flavor. Make sure to taste often while cooking so that you can adjust the amount curry in the stew. I also added some sugar to sweeten it a little and balance the taste.

???????????????????????????????

4 Comments Add yours

  1. You are on the right track….you want real curry have a look on my pages they might inspire you….

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Awesome! Will do, thank you! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

