Stuffed Hake

Getting good fresh fish is a rarity in Botswana but being from a country where fish is somewhat plentiful, my family like to have it as a regular in our diet. The easiest fish to find in Botswana is Hake which is imported from South Africa. If not that then we usually go for Bream which is from here in Botswana.

However I do admit that making Hake interesting is quite a task! My go to solution is to season and fry it. Sometimes, though rarely, we bake it with vegetables or throw it into a cheesy sauce and bake. I think we’ve made it with soup once or twice however it’s not a favorite.

Recently, I decided to cook it and while mulling over what to do I noticed the recipe on the back of the box. It seemed easy enough so I gave it a go! I was quite impressed with the outcome. Though it’s simple, the recipe is versatile and you can easily adjust it to your liking. Details below:

Ingredients

  • 800g Hake (with fins removed)
  • 3 tbsps mixed herbs
  • 2 tbsps butter
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 and a half cup bread crumbs
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 tbsps parsley
  • 2 tbsps lemon juice
  • salt and pepper

Method

  1. Cut a cavity into the fish in half length wise or butterfly the fish and remove the spine (do this while the fish is still slightly frozen because the meat will crumble if it’s too soft). 
  2. Season both the inside and outside with the herbs.
  3. Fry the onion in the butter until soft
  4. In a small bowl, mix the parsley, onion, breadcrumbs, egg, lemon juice, salt, pepper and remaining herbs to make the stuffing.

    I added chopped mushrooms to my stuffing
    I added chopped mushrooms to my stuffing
  5. Place fish onto the baking tray, fill the cavity with the stuffing and dot the top of the fish with the remaining butter. ??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
  6. Bake for about 25-30 minutes at 180 degrees C or until cooked.???????????????????????????????

As I mentioned above, it’s easy to personalize this recipe: you can change the herbs, add some mushrooms or whatever tickles your fancy. I loved it! Quick and easy, words I live by! I had it with saffron rice, a light mushroom sauce and some veggies.

???????????????????????????????

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Nangamso says:

    Looks yummy! I will definitely try it out.

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Awesome,lemme know how it goes!

  2. Nangamso says:

    I tried your Stuffed Hake earlier this week and it came out great! I think I needed to add more breadcrumbs though because the stuffing kept falling out. But it was delicious, even my hubby and son enjoyed it 🙂

    1. Ms Z. says:

      That’s great! happy to hear it! 🙂

  3. I wanna know how you did the rice, sauce and vegetables too!

    1. Ms Z. says:

      The rice was prepared as normal but with some threads of saffron which turned it yellow, you can substitute saffron with tumeric, different flavor but same colour. veggies is just random ones chopped and roasted. Sauce is a royco one, lol!

  4. nokuthula says:

    ill try it tommorrow the vegetables and the rice compliments the dish

Leave a Reply

