Blue Cheese chicken with Royco black pepper sauce

???????????????????????????????Buying blue cheese, or any cheese really, has become a habit for me (I LOVE cheese). I currently have 3 cheeses in my fridge: blue cheese, mozarrella and Danish Fontina. So a couple weeks ago, I decided to stop staring at the blue cheese and put it to good use. I got out the chicken breasts, mushrooms and peppers and took to Google. I found a simple recipe on About.com. I adjusted the recipe slightly and the resulting recipe is below.

Ingredients

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 Tbsp oil
  • 1/3 cup white wine
  • 2/3 cup crumbled blue cheese (about 160g)
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream (I replaced this with Royco pepper sauce powder diluted in 3/4 cup water)
  • 1 Tbsp finely chopped Italian parsley or any other herb on hand (I used Basil)
  • 250g mushrooms,sliced.
  • 1 chopped green pepper
  • 1 chopped red/yellow pepper
  • salt

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 375
  2. Slice each chicken breast lengthwise through the middle, creating two thin chicken breasts from the original breast. I made a mistake and cut the chicken width-wise instead of lengthwise so don’t let my pictures confuse you!???????????????????????????????
  3. Heat oil over medium heat and sear the chicken, cooking three minutes on each side.???????????????????????????????
  4. In a seperate saucepan, fry the peppers then add the mushrooms. IMG_1844
  5. Add the Royco sauce/cream to the mushrooms and peppers and then add crumbed blue cheese and mix well.IMG_1847
  6. Simmer another minute then put the chicken and sauce into a baking tin or casserole dish.???????????????????????????????
  7. Place in the oven for 10-15 minutes. Remove and serve while hot with rice or pasta.???????????????????????????????

I CANNOT get over Royco’s awesome pepper sauce! It goes very well with blue cheese. I’m sure one could easily replace the chicken with beef strips and it would be lovely or just make the sauce alone and drizzle it over a steak. I will most certainly be making this again soon. I have not tried to make it with cream and I doubt I will because I’m so happy with the sauce.???????????????????????????????

I had it with some pasta and mixed veggies. Yummy!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kelsey Christensen says:

    Reblogged this on Where the &%!# is Botswana? and commented:
    Note to self: recreate this ASAP!

Leave a Reply

