Cherry Banana cake

???????????????????????????????

One random day I decided the words “cherry banana cake” sounded good, literally. I hadn’t seen it anywhere nor had I heard anyone mention it. Took to Google and as usual it had all the answers. I found a simple recipe on Food.com and got down to business.

Ingredients

2 cups flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup sugar
3 mashed ripe bananas
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup oil
2 cups pitted cherries
Method

  1. In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, salt, suger.???????????????????????????????
  2. In a smaller bowl, mash the bananas.
  3. To the bananas, add the eggs, vanilla extract, milk and oil and mix. Combine cherries into the mix. Add some 2/3 drops of red food colouring if you wish.???????????????????????????????
  4. Add the wet mixture to the other dry ingredients in the large bowl and mix.???????????????????????????????
  5. Spray the baking tin with cooking spray (alternatively, grease tin with butter).
  6. Pour batter into baking tin and cook in a oven pre-heated to 375 degrees for 1 hour 10 minutes.???????????????????????????????
  7. Remove cake from oven and allow to cool for 20 minutes. Turn cake onto a plate and allow to cool.???????????????????????????????

Sadly I left it in the oven a few minutes too long (I was distracted) and as a result the cake was a little dry. However ordinarily I don’t think this recipe produces a dry cake, I’d give it a second chance.

My only issue with this cake was the amount of cherries. I wonder why I ignored my instincts when shopping because my friend did express surprise at the quantity of cherries I bought. I decided I would still follow the recipe to the letter though and ended up with an extremely sweet cake! There were way too many cherries. I wonder if it is because I used glace cherries and not plain ones… Glace cherries are cherries that have been cooked in a thick sugary syrup hence the sweetness. Alas lesson learnt, next time I’ll reduce the quantity of cherries to one cup.

Aside from those two bloopers, it’s a decent cake and I will attempt it again and hopefully be more successful  I will also add one more banana to it next time to increase that flavor. It’s lovely served with whipped cream or thick cream if you really want to treat yourself 🙂

???????????????????????????????

Leave a Reply

