Simple grilled lamb chops with caramelized onions

I rarely eat lamb whether at a restaurant or at home, however, when I feel like a change I either go for lamb or turkey because those are readily available at my nearest Spar supermarket. Unfortunately lamb is quite expensive so this is a rare occurrence.

I had some spare coins and decided to try lamb sometime last month and I have finally gotten around to blogging about it. I found this recipe on All Recipes and for lamb it was a decent recipe: not complex and you are likely to already have all the required ingredients sitting in your kitchen. But for a caramelized onion recipe it’s one of the best if not the best!

The ingredients for the marinade are vinegar, salt, pepper, oil and garlic. Get the specific measurements on the All Recipes page as I didn’t change anything.

The method is easy, marinate the chops and 1 thinly sliced onion in the mixture for 2 hours then remove the chops and grill till done.

IMG_2505

The original recipe states that you should discard the remaining marinade and onions but one of the reviewers suggested grilling the onions too or using some of the marinade to caramelize the onions in a pan on the stove. That advice was golden because I now have an easy way of caramelizing onions.???????????????????????????????The recipe did not suggest this but I opted to sear the chops before grilling. I was using a stove grill rather than a braai/barbecue grill. If I had used a braai/barbecue grill I would have put the chops straight onto the grill and skipped the searing.
???????????????????????????????
I then placed them on a foil and grilled them till they were done.

For the onions, I favor using the stove method instead. I put them in a pan with some of the marinade and a little water. I let them simmer in the liquid till the onions are tender. ???????????????????????????????If the liquid evaporates before the onions are done, I add some more marinade and water and continue to simmer till the onions are wilted and soft. I also add some brown sugar to taste because the vinegar can be a little overpowering. I also use this recipe when I want to make caramelized onions to accompany any other meat dish or as a side dish for a meal.
???????????????????????????????

I made these onions for my family over the holidays and they were well received. Definitely a recipe for the archives. The end result of my simple grilled lamb chops and caramelized onions was lovely. However I wouldn’t stick to this recipe alone, I think there is still room for improvement flavor wise for the lamb chops. When I feel inspired I shall hunt down another recipe and give it a try.

???????????????????????????????

Leave a Reply

