Chinese food in China Part 2: Shanghai Food Market visit and lunch with a Chinese family

This post is a continuation of Part 1 where I gave a run down of the food I had a chance to eat whilst in Shanghai this past month.

During our second weekend in Shanghai we had 2 scheduled activities that were perfectly tailored to my inner food lover: a visit to the food market and lunch with a Chinese family. The area our hotel was in did not have any food markets nearby so I was pretty excited to see one for the first time.

Sadly due to time constraints we weren’t able to stay for as long as I would have liked but we did get to try some fish flavoured pork balls and buy one or two things.

The entrance to the market
The entrance to the market
IMG_3550
The white meat balls at the back are made of fish flavoured pork and this stall owner was kind enough to give me a free sample

IMG_3551

Pig ears anyone?
Pig ears anyone?
Or maybe cow tongue? or is it pig tongue, not sure. But it is a tongue!
Or maybe cow tongue? or is it pig tongue, not sure. But it is a tongue!
Duck and Chicken
Duck and Chicken
My Mandarin teacher and friend Melissa made these for me last year! Chinese green onion pie or Scallion pie/pancake.
My Mandarin teacher and friend Melissa made these for me last year! Chinese green onion pie or Scallion pie/pancake.
Tea...
Tea…
Lots of fruit!
Lots of fruit!
Seafood
Seafood
I got myself some dragon fruit, such a pretty fruit!
I got myself some dragon fruit, such a pretty fruit!
I also bought this which tasted similar sugar cone
I also bought this which tasted similar sugar cone

After our short stop at the food market we went to visit “our family” in an apartment complex a short drive from the market. I went with 4 other girls from my group and a guide. The family consisted of a husband and wife and the grandmother. Their children were at work so they were unable to join us. After welcoming us into the home, we were seated and the eating began! We were served green tea and an assortment of cold dishes first which are normally eaten in summer. As we’d finish one dish, another would take its place. And so on it went till we begged our host to stop cooking. As guests we were not allowed to help out at all, which felt really wrong for us culturally since in Africa you always help your elders.

Table set and waiting for us.
Table set and waiting for us.

We loved the squash because it reminded us of Botswana! The eggs were nice too, they were present in almost every meal we had in Shanghai. She made boiled Quail eggs and fried eggs drizzled with a white sauce which I couldn’t identify and what looked like a tomato sauce. There was duck, fried fish, fried chicken, bean sprouts, tofu, cucumber and cabbage drizzled with vinegar and chillies.

Kung pow chicken
Kung pow chicken

The Kung pow chicken was really nice! The chilli lovers amongst us made sure that plate left empty!

Sweet potato fritters (well at least thats what we call them in Africa)
Pumpkin fritters (well at least that’s what we call them in Africa)

My roommate Mimi loved these. They are basically fritters stuffed with mashed pumpkin. We also tried ones that were stuffed with mashed potato and when I find a recipe I’ll definitely give them a try.

Wonton soup! I've made the fried version before.
Wonton soup! I’ve made the fried version before.
Duck
Duck
sweet and sour chilli pork, this also finished pretty quickly!
sweet and sour chilli pork with sweet potato, this also finished pretty quickly!

And when we were fed and done chatting, we took a picture together and said our goodbyes.

IMG_3576

I’m the 2nd one on the right, bottom row (in the long braids).

A great end to a perfect food lovers day!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Nangamso says:

    Thanks for sharing your Chinese experience, it’s really interesting and it seems like it was a great cultural experience. I love Asian food, especially Chinese food and sushi *nom nom* Hopefully I can visit China one day and try out all those foods but I’m a bit wary of the street food (even though it looks yummy)!

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Lol! Glad you’re enjoying the posts! Yeah some of the street food stalls look terrible. We bought from the neater looking ones, lol. Some of the girls I was with did get sick but oddly enough from restaurant food not street food. Luckily my stomach survived the whole trip without any issues.

Leave a Reply

