Orange and Pineapple Muffins

I had a ton of oranges laying around in my fridge so I decided to find a quick muffin recipe in order to use one or two of them. I found this recipe on All Recipes and given the good reviews I decided to give it a try. I changed it a bit because I wanted to add crushed pineapple to the muffins. So I decided to skip the cinnamon and sugar swirl in the center of the muffin because I wasn’t sure how the cinnamon would blend with the pineapple. Recipe below:

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup drained crushed pineapple
  • 2 tablespoons grated orange zest

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius and grease a muffin tray.
  2. Mix dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and orange zest) in a big bowl, mix wet ingredients (oil, orange juice, buttermilk, vanilla, eggs and crushed pineapple) separately and add to dry ingredients. Mix by hand until just combined, lumps are ok. Be sure to not over mix the batter.
  3. Put equal amounts of batter into the muffin tray.
  4. Bake muffins for 20 to 22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of a muffin comes out clean. Serve with a cream cheese frosting or plain.

I thought they seemed a little bland at first, but after 2 I couldn’t put them down. They were so subtle in taste and yummy! Even after a few days in the fridge they remained very moist. Only thing I would do different is to mix it a little better next time as in some parts of the muffins were a little too floury in taste. As a general rule though, you should never over mix muffins. I suppose I could try reduce the amount of flour slightly.

They are now a favorite of mine, easy to make and they keep well. The mix of the tangy flavor from the orange zest and orange juice and the sweetness from the pineapples works very well. A friend of mine tried them and insisted I make another batch for his stomach alone soon, though I suspect he’ll only get half….

Leave a Reply

