Hoisin Pork Chops

During a particularly exhausting week, I was looking for a way to use my recently acquired Hoisin sauce to make something nice for dinner without having to do anything too tedious and I came across this recipe online. It involved grilling/roasting which I am a fan of so I was sold.

Hoisin is quite a curious sauce, it’s slightly sweet, tangy and mildly spicy. I devised a marinade for it using the recipe referenced above for guidance.

[tspn=teaspoon, tbspn=tablespoon]

Ingredients

  • 2 Pork chops
  • 1/4 cup honey

Marinade

  • 1/4 cup of Hoisin sauce
  • 1/8 cup of soy sauce
  • 2 tspns of garlic
  • 1 tspn of black pepper
  • 2 tspns of Chinese 5 spice powder
  • 1 inch grated ginger
  •  2 tbspn Chinese cooking wine/sherry
  • 2 tbspn of vegetable oil.
  1. Coat your pork chops with the marinade (I made 2, if you are making more, you will need to make more marinade).
  2. Bring the remaining marinade to the boil with the honey. Let it simmer for 8-10 minutes then remove from the heat
  3. In the meantime sear the pork chops on both sides (4-5 mins each side)
  4. Place the seared pork chops into a baking dish and cover with the remaining marinade. Bake for 10 mins or so (until the chops are ready).

Yup! That quick and oh so delicious!!! The marinade is flexible as long as you have the Hoisin sauce, soy sauce, garlic, ginger and honey. I had the pork chop with rice and creamed spinach. Don’t throw away the remaining sauce from the baking dish, pour it over potatoes or rice like I did. It has tons of flavor.

This is one of the dishes that I WILL NOT share. I love my pork and the Hoisin sauce makes it even harder to share 🙂

Leave a Reply

