Favourite old fashioned Gingerbread

During the past few weeks while I was drowning under school work, I had no time to bake. I actually really missed it. At the Food and Wine show I attended recently, I bought a chocolate cupcake and I got a little mad at myself for not making my own, ridiculous. So I got inspired and decided I would find time to bake in the following week. And I did, the day before my Masters thesis proposal presentation, again: ridiculous.

However I’m not pouting now because I have a yummy cake in the fridge! I really LOVE this cake.It borders on the flavor of a fruit cake without the fruit…if that makes any sense. It’s dense, VERY moist and on the sweeter side of things. What I love most about it though is the lemon glaze and how that lemony taste blends with the ginger. It is actually the perfect holiday cake! For whatever reason, nothing says Christmas like a spice cake.

I found the recipe on All Recipes (as always, my trusted website). As usual, I read through the reviews and made the recommended changes. Recipe below. [tsp=teaspoon]

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup oil (original recipe says butter but oil cakes tend to be more moist)
  • 1/2 cup sugar (brown or white is fine)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup honey or 1 cup molasses (I used the sugar and honey combination)
  • 2 and 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp cinammon
  • 2 tsp ginger
  • 1 cup hot water

Method

  1. Heat oven to 180 degrees Celsius and grease a 9 inch baking tin (I used a round tin with a diameter of 9 inches)
  2. In a bowl, cream together the butter and sugar or the oil and sugar. The butter must be at room temperature.
  3. Beat in the egg
  4. Add the molasses or the sugar+honey
  5. In a separate bowl, sift the flour, cinnamon, ginger, baking soda and salt.
  6. Little by little, blend the flour mix into the butter,egg and sugar mixture. It will be lumpy and thick.
  7. Stir in the hot water. It will still be lumpy and uneven but just do your best to mix it as smoothly as possible.
  8. Pour into the baking tin and bake for 45mins to an hour. It may smell as though it is burning towards the end but do not panic, it’s just the sugar beginning to scorch. Begin checking the cake at 40/45mins.

Lemon Glaze

  • I cup powdered sugar (castor sugar worked well for me).
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 and 1/2 tablespoons grated lemon zest.
  1. Place all ingredients into a sauce pan. Put on medium heat and stir till all the sugar dissolves.
  2. Pour over the surface of the cake when its fresh out of the oven and still in the baking tin. Do not allow it to cool first.

When the cake has cooled, remove from the baking tin and serve. I find that it generally cakes taste better after sitting in the fridge overnight.

Enjoy it with fruit or ice cream!

Leave a Reply

