Plum sauce chicken

Spotted some Blue Dragon plum sauce in Food Lovers Market the other day and couldn’t resist…

Plum sauce is often used in Asian cooking and I’ve spotted it once or twice in Thai recipes. Because of it’s sweetness I thought it might make a nice glazing for roasted chicken, and I thought right. Aside from giving the chicken a nice light unique sweet and sour flavour, it also gives it a lovely light brown colour. It is also often used as a dipping sauce or as an ingredient in a dipping sauce for spring rolls, roasted duck or other various Asian pastry foods.

After looking up a few recipe ideas online and doing my best to stifle hunger after looking at this recipe on “The Steamy Kitchen”, I decided to go ahead and try it out. I didn’t follow a recipe per say, I just used a few ingredients that I’d used previously in some of the Chinese recipes I have been trying.

Ingredients

  • 4 pieces of chicken (As you increase the chicken pieces, also increase the marinade amount)
  • 4 tablespoons of plum sauce for basting

Plum sauce marinade

  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil or peanut oil
  • 2 tablespoons Sherry or cooking wine
  • 4 tablespoons plum sauce
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons of minced garlic
  • spices of your choice (I used lemon pepper, paprika and portuguese chicken spice)

Method

  1. Mix the marinade ingredients, cover the chicken with it thoroughly and leave in the fridge overnight or for 4 hours.
  2. Place the chicken in a baking dish and roast on medium heat (180 degrees celcius) for about an hour to an hour and a half.
  3. Baste chicken with plum sauce every 15 minutes and turn over half way through roasting time.
  4. Remove from the oven and serve while warm.

I love this chicken so much I could eat it without a side dish! However it’s great with noodles or rice or better yet, some fries!

Yum!

 

Leave a Reply

