Roasted duck with pineapple

Out of the loot I scored at the Chinese grocery store (check previous post), the duck was definitely going to be the first to be cooked. I was so excited to taste it I made it a day after I got it. I decided to go with a recipe from my Chinese cook book for duck with pineapple. Those that know me know that I have an unhealthy obsession with pineapples so naturally, I had to try that recipe.

The duck looked pretty big (and slightly creepy) however after cooking I was left with suprisingly very little meat. You basically prepare it the same way you would chicken. I cut off the head, feet, anus and backbone. I watched a Youtube video to help myself along. Alternatively I could have left the spine in and roasted it whole then cut it afterwards. However I wanted to cut it into pieces before roasting so that it wouldn’t take as long in the oven.

Recipe below.

Ingredients

  • A duck (whole or in pieces according to your preference)
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • ½ a cup of water
  • 2 tablespoons barbeque sauce
  • 2 tablespoons white vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons cooking wine
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • ¼ teaspoon five spice (or any substitute spices of your choice)

Pineapple Sauce

  • 1 tin of pineapple pieces
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 1 inch piece of ginger (grated)
  • 1 teaspoons minced garlic
  • ¾ cup water
  • 3 teaspoons corn flour/cornstarch
  • 2 tablespoons barbeque sauce
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons cooking wine
  • 1 chicken stock cube
  • 1 tablespoons white vinegar

Method

  1. Place duck or duck pieces into baking dish, pour marinade over the duck. Place in hot oven (230 degrees celcius) and roast for 20 minutes till light golden brown, then reduce heat to moderate (180 degrees celcius) and cook for a further 60 mins. Spoon marinade over the duck frequently over the 120mins of roasting. If you choose to cut the duck into pieces, roasting will take just under an hour.
  2. Remove the duck from the oven and put aside to cool. If you roasted the duck whole, after it cools, cut it into pieces with a very sharp knife.
  3. Heat oil in a pan and add ginger and garlic, saute for one minute.
  4. Add duck and toss over high heat for two minutes or until duck is heated through.
  5. Combine the remaining sauce ingredients, add to the pan and stir till sauce is boiling.
  6. Add the pineapple pieces and toss for a further 2 minutes or until sauce coats the duck.
  7. Remove from the heat and serve with rice or potatoes.

I must admit duck tastes a little strange to me. I have to continue experimenting with it to get used to the taste and texture. This particular duck that is sold at the Oriental plaza is very tough so I think a braising or slow roasting recipe would be better in order to soften the meat.

Currently, in Botswana, Oriental Plaza is the only source of duck that I know of. I know some of the Asian restaurants do serve it though so when I get the chance I will give it a try in the restaurants.

This recipe was very easy to follow and despite the time it takes, once the duck is roasted, it takes about 20-30 minutes to complete the dish. The sauce is a delicate balance of sweet and tangy, something the Chinese are very good at doing.

Overall not bad for my first try but there’s room for improvement. I had it with stir fried rice noodles.

 

Leave a Reply

