Feeling cheesy: Blue cheese and Feta cheese

on

I have spent so much of my life eating cheddar cheese and when I wanna kick it up a notch I reach for the Gouda though frankly I can barely tell the difference between the two. So when Food Lovers market first opened here in Gabs and I saw the Cheese section I felt it was time to put my taste buds to the test!

Each time I go, assuming my wallet is feeling generous, I pick a cheese I haven’t tried before. Sometimes it’s a nasty surprise-stinky cheese is a challenge-and sometimes it’s awesome! I suggest Googling the cheese before paying for it just to be sure what it is you are getting. So next time you go to Food Lovers Market and see someone standing by the cheese bar staring at their phone, it’s probably me…

I have been doing this random cheese tasting for a while now but this is the first time I’m blogging about it. This month I went with two cheeses that I’m somewhat familiar with, Blue cheese and Feta cheese. I have eaten Feta cheese in salads before and blue cheese in a delicious burger I had at a local restaurant “Mugg and Bean”.

Feta cheese in a salad doesn’t do much for me, in fact I find it a tad bitter so I want to experiment by adding it to different dishes. So far I have used it in creamed spinach and it worked very well!

I bought this particular cheese in the picture from Woolworths but it is available at most supermarkets. Look for the cream cheese and Feta cheese should be right next to it.

Feta is a Greek cheese and made from sheep’s milk or a combination of sheep and goat’s milk. It has a salty, tangy flavor and a crumbly consistency. It usually sold packed in water, brine or sometimes oil. Since feta will dry out if removed from the water/brine/oil for too long, it’s a good idea to store it in the water it was packed in, or rinse it and store it in fresh water.

In terms of cooking with it, on my to do list is Spanakopita which is a Greek spinach pie made with Feta and cottage cheese. Hope to try that soon!

I love blue cheese! I love the strong flavor and it is simply amazing with meat dishes and with pasta. It is a moldy cheese and the strength of it depends on the strength of the mold on it. Yes, mold. That probably goes against every fiber of your being but you have to get past it. If you are apprehensive just do yourself a favor and order a blue cheese and bacon burger one day, you won’t regret it.

It works well with beef, fruit salads, on crackers and as a salad dressing. It can be made with cow’s milk, sheep’s milk, or goat’s milk. You may come across some blue cheeses named Roquefort, Gorgonzola and Blue Stilton which are named as such because of the region they are made in. Otherwise they are simply called Blue cheese. It is quite sharp and salty in taste so like in the use of soy sauce, no salt needs to be added to blue cheese dishes. The smell may put some people off but it’s not that strong…trust me I have smelt worse cheeses! I wouldn’t classify it as a stinky cheese, I’d merely say it has a distinct smell.

Not sure what to do with it yet but I definitely want to make a home made blue cheese and bacon burger with it.

Hmmm….can’t wait!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

