Red Stumpnose in creamy herb sauce

When I saw this fish in the supermarket I got excited….yes that happens to me now. I happened to be with a friend and he was a little taken aback by my huge grin and shear joy at finding a big flat fish. And that’s what Red Stumpnose is really, a big flat fish.

I keep my eyes peeled for odd looking creatures in the seafood aisle these days, though I’m pretty sure I will never pick up an eel…I’m not ready yet!

Forgive the quality of the first few pictures…I was waiting for my camera batteries to charge so my phone had to take over.

Red Stumpnose

This fish is not the prettiest thanks to it’s little hump back and is quite a nightmare to butterfly. I went in with a positive attitude and a not-so-sharp knife (shame on me) and I was defeated. It has huge bones everywhere! My intention was to fillet it. But just cutting away the fins was such a task! Especially when I got to the hump.

The result of fighting with the fin at the hump..

I butterflied it as best as I could and ended up with the mess below…..

I decided to just cut each half into 2 to make 4 pieces. If I had known it would be this difficult (or if I had done any research) I would have just cut it into chunks without butterflying it. If you can get it as a fillet for the recipe below, do so. The gigantic thorns in this fish are little annoying when eating.

Now on to the recipe…

With the help of Google I came across the idea of baking the fish in a creamy sauce. I couldn’t find any recipe which I could follow because most had ingredients I didn’t have so I decided to wing it.

Ingredients

  • One medium size Red Stumpnose cut into 4 chunks/5 Red Stumpnose fillets
  • Half a chopped green pepper
  • Half a chopped yellow pepper
  • Half a chopped red pepper
  • A 1/4 cup of chopped green onions
  • 125g roughly diced mushrooms
  • One cup of cream
  • Half a cup of milk/white wine
  • 4 tablespoons of butter
  • A 1/4 cup of mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup of chopped parsley
  • The juice of half a lemon
  • Spices of your choice (I used lemon pepper, ginger and garlic salt)

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celcius.
  2. Prepare the fish (scale, cut the fins and chop into chunks) and rub with spices of your choice. Sprinkle lemon over the fish.Place the fish into a 9x13inch baking tin/dish lined with foil. Make sure the foil covers the sides of the baking tin/dish as well and not just the base.
  3. In a bowl combine the peppers, onions, mushrooms, parsley, butter and mayonnaise. After tossing all the ingredients, add the cream and milk.
  4. Pour the mixture over the fish in the baking tin/dish and cover the tin/dish with foil and carefully place into the oven. 
  5. Bake for 20-30 minutes then uncover and bake for a further 10-15 minutes to let some of the liquid reduce.
  6. Serve with roasted potatoes or rice.

I was quite happy with how it turned out. If you’re going the healthy route this is obviously not the recipe for you, though you can reduce the cream content and increase the milk instead.The milk can also be replaced with a low fat version. However I figure it’s not a dish you would make that often anyway so whenever you want to treat yourself this is a good option.

I like the flavor of this fish quite a lot. It’s a little more flavorful than bland fish like Hake but not as strong as Trout. It worked well with the cream and herbs. Fish tend to be quite forgiving in terms of cooking methods so I figure this recipe would work with many different types of fish too, especially ones with a delicate flavor.

Unfortunately I used all of it for this recipe so if I’m lucky enough to buy more I will try a different recipe with it, one that lets the fish dominate the dish.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lefika Masimege says:

    Would give it a try but sea food is not for me

Leave a Reply

