Baked “open face” Trout

on

I found some Trout at our local Pick n Pay (10-20 pula per fish) and couldn’t resist buying two to try. After much browsing online for recipes I settled on a stuffed Trout recipe that I found here. However my Trout was not de-boned and I was too lazy to pick out each thorn so after taking out the spine I gave up. The stuffed Trout recipe works better if you have filleted/dressed fish. Hence the reason my Trout ended up being “open faced” so that it was less of a mission to eat.

Now if you don’t have fish fillet or deboned fish you will have to butterfly the fish yourself. Here are step by step instructions to how to do it and here’s a video as well. Be warned it’s quite a difficult skill to learn and will take practice. I have done it numerous times with Hake and Bream so it’s not as hard for me. You need a sharp knife to do it, blunt knives will just make your life difficult.

My butterflied Trout

Please follow the linked recipe above for exact measurements, I tend to just go by intuition since I am usually cooking for one. But I will list what I used then you can use your own judgement to increase the measurements to cater for the number of fish you are making.

Ingredients

  • Chopped green onions/chives
  • Chopped red onions
  • Diced red cocktail tomatoes
  • Sliced mushrooms
  • Sliced bacon strips
  • One Trout, butterflied and with spine removed
  • Butter
  • Spices of your choice
  • Fresh parsley

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius and line a baking tin with foil.
  2. After butterflying the fish, rub with spices of your choice. I used lemon pepper, ginger, fish spice and garlic salt. Slice small thin bit of butter and lay two on to the foil in the baking tin then place the Trout skin side down on top of the butter.
    Forgive the glare of the foil…

    Put two more bits of butter on top of the fish, squeeze some lemon juice on it and cover lightly with foil then place in the oven. Bake for 15 to 20 mins.

  3. To make the topping/stuffing, heat 2 tablespoons of butter in a sauce pan on medium heat, add the bacon, let it cook for a minute or two then add onions, tomatoes, mushrooms and the parsley last. When mushrooms are done remove from heat.
  4. Serve the fish open with the topping on it.

Trout happens to be related to the Salmon family so you will notice that it has a fairly strong flavour and I’m sure would taste quite good baked with a simply a squeeze of lemon and pepper. It also has a flavor that would work well smoked.

The thing I love most about this recipe was the bacon and the parsley, they really went well with the Trout. I will be sure to buy Trout every time I see it, I love it’s distinct flavor. I had it with some plain fried rice.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Nangamso says:

    Looks yummy! I want to try and make more fish dishes but I am totally clueless when it comes to different types of fishes one can buy. Your blog has given me some good ideas to try out…
    Another thing, I always buy fish from a box, lol. So its nice to know one can buy a whole fish and preparing it yourself. Do you find fish is more expensive than red meat? For some reason I’ve always thought that fish is more expensive.
    Love the blog!

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Glad I’m giving you some ideas!
      I think the cost depends on your location. Here in Botswana it’s more expensive because most of the fish is imported, but in Sea side towns or places near lakes/rivers it should be cheaper. It also depends on the types of fish you buy. Here Bream is cheaper than say Salmon which is quite expensive. I tend to not like red meat much so I like to buy fish often.
      The stores here tend to bring a particular type of fish in one go. So things like Red Stumpnose or Trout are not always available.Bream on the other hand is always available.
      Fish is healthier than red meat though! 🙂
      As for preparing it, it can be tedious but once you practice a little you’ll get the hang of it. I do it without breaking a sweat now but I used to hate it. Boxed fish is more convenient since its prepared already for you but it will be more expensive in most cases.
      Let me know how your efforts turn out! Would love a picture or two! 🙂

Leave a Reply

