Sweet and sticky Pineapple cake

So the other day I felt the urge to bake a cake and it had to have pineapple in it since I had a tin of pineapple pieces laying around. So I hopped onto my favourite cooking site (All recipes.com) and found a pineapple cake recipe. It uses so few ingredients and is so quick to prepare I couldn’t resist giving it a try. I of course read all the reviews first to make the necessary adjustments and the resulting recipe is below….

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups white sugar (reduce to 1 and a half or 1 and a quarter)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 (20 ounce/570g) can crushed pineapple with juice, or 2 250g tins.
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the flour, sugar, cinnamon and baking soda. Make a well in the center and add the eggs, oil, vanilla and crushed pineapple, with liquid from can. Mix well to blend.
  3. Bake for 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into cake comes out clean.

Though the ingredients seem so few, you’ll be suprised how much batter you end up with! I thought a 9 inch round tin would be big enough but I should have used a 9x8inch square tin instead.

The cake is very soft and sticky so grease your baking tin generously to prevent it sticking to the sides.

I added the oil because one of the reviews mentioned that the oil helps keep the sugar in the cake from burning. The added benefit of adding oil is that it helps with making the cake moist too.

Most reviews complained of the cake burning on the surface before it was ready and I think that could be remedied with using a bigger baking tin to spread the batter out more thinly though I haven’t tried that yet. My cake surface was beginning to burn by the time the center of the cake was ready. I wouldn’t worry about this too much though because it doesn’t affect the taste of the cake and such problems can be fixed with a little frosting 🙂

I used about half the required amount of pineapple (my tin was 250g) but I was still pleased with the outcome, next time I’ll use two tins but may reduce the pineapple juice and maybe replace some of it with milk (the sugar in the cake is what causes the burning so I presume a reduction in sugar will reduce the burning).

The cake is quite sweet! The pineapple I used had a light syrup but the cake was still quite sweet. So I suggest reducing the sugar to 1 and a half cups or 1 and a quarter cup, 2 will be too much.

Overall this is a good cake and great for having around the house to much on when you’re hungry. Sweet, sticky, moist and yummy. I will definitely make it again.

Great eaten on its own with a glass of milk or with frosting or a little light drizzle of cream.

 

Leave a Reply

