Rice salad

I’m currently running low on my constantly used ingredients so I had to get creative yesterday to prevent myself from having a really boring meal.

I had rice, but no soy sauce so I couldn’t make fried rice. So I went to All Recipes and searched “rice”. One of the first results I got was Rice salad. I took a quick look at the ingredients and though I was missing quite a few of them I decided to attempt it anyway. Below is my adapted recipe.

Ingredients

2 cups cooked white
3 boiled eggs
Half a lettuce head
1/4 cup chopped red onion
½ cup mayonnaise (or a salad dressing of your choice)
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon vinegar
½ Cup chopped cocktail tomatoes
1 teaspoon Sage
1 teaspoon lemon pepper
1 teaspoon salt
2 grated carrots

Directions

Make sure rice is cooled/at room temperature. Peel and chop the boiled eggs and place in a bowl.Add chopped tomatoes, onions, carrots and rice.

Shred the lettuce leaves (the size of the shredded pieces is up to you), add to the bowl and mix all ingredients with a spoon.

In a separate bowl/cup, stir the mayonnaise together with lemon juice, salt, vinegar and lemon pepper until well blended. Add to the rice mixture, and toss to combine.

Cover, and refrigerate for a minimum of 4 hours. Toss once more before serving. Serve chilled.*

*I only added mayonnaise to the portion of rice I was going to eat and left the rest of the rice (without mayonnaise) in the refrigerator overnight. I don’t like mayonnaise that has sat with the food for more than 2 hours, it tends to get watery.

Mine is a really simple basic version. You can expand this by adding tuna, ham, bacon, shrimp/prawns, more herbs, peas, corn, etc. Follow your taste buds.

It’s great for using up leftover rice that you have no clue what to do with and takes 5-10 minutes to prepare. Also wonderful for braais/barbecues, bring a dish functions and for those days when you get tired of other types of salads.

I had it with some grilled shrimp.

image

Leave a Reply

