Deep fried Calamari, Tiger prawns, baked stuffed potatoes and red cabbage salad.

on

That title is quite a mouthful but that’s what I had for dinner the other day and though it was tedious to prepare, it was a joy to eat!

Baked stuffed potatoes

I’ve made these a couple times before but had never put up the recipe. They are quite simple to make and you can tailor them according to your taste. However have a book or something else to do during the cooking process because they take a while.

Ingredients

6 large potatoes (clean and dry)- Do not peel them

Stuffing *

Cream cheese

Chopped red onion

Lemon pepper

* This is where you can be experimental. You can also add bits of fried bacon, powdered garlic, shredded cooked chicken breast…etc. It’s really up to you and your taste buds! However everything must be chopped up or shredded into small bits.

Method

  1. Line a roasting pan with non stick parchment paper. If you grease it, you may end up slightly frying the potato with the grease and that is not what we want to happen. So using non stick parchment paper or a non stick spray or a non stick roasting pan is better.
  2. Arrange the potatoes in the tray and cover with tin foil. Bake in an oven at 180 for one and a half hours. The bigger your potatoes the longer you may need to bake them. The aim is to bake them till they are thoroughly cooked to the centre.
  3. Remove them from the oven, let them cool a little then slice them all in half length wise i.e. along the longest part of the potato. Using a spoon, scoop out as much of the potato as possible without destroying the shape and put it in a bowl. In the bowl, mash up the potato and mix with the ingredients of your stuffing.  When you are satisfied, fill the hollow potatoes with the stuffing (since you added more ingredients there should be more than enough).
  4. You can then grate some cheese over the potatoes if you wish. Put the potatoes back in the oven uncovered to allow the skin to get crispy and the cheese to melt. 10-15 minutes should be fine. Do not leave them in for too long or they shall dry and get very hard.

They are great eaten alone (especially if they have meat in them) or as part of a meal. 

Just before baking for the second time…

Deep fried Calamari

These were on special in Game city so I HAD to pick them up. What can I say; I have a thing for squid….

They are easy to make, only one way to make them really but the cooking methods may differ (some grill, others fry).

Ingredients

Defrosted calamari rings (do not microwave them to defrost, they will cook. Instead put them in some warm water for 30 minutes or so).

Spices of your choice: Herbs, pepper, ginger, fish spice etc.

Dry bread crumbs or crushed cornflake bits. (I went the lazy efficient route and bought Bokomo crushed cornflake crumbs)

One egg

¼ cup of milk

Oil for frying

Method

  1. Pat the calamari dry with a clean paper towel or napkin. Sprinkle a little lemon juice over them.
  2. Mix the spices with the dry crumbs or crushed cornflakes. (My cornflake crumbs were already spiced so I could skip this step)
  3. Mix the egg and milk and dip each ring inside then roll it in the bread crumbs/crushed cornflakes making sure to cover the ring completely. Let them rest for 10 minutes before frying.
  4. Fry on medium heat, high heat will burn the outside. When the rings have turned golden brown, remove from the pan and put them on a paper towel to drain the oil.

Simple!

Pan fried Tiger prawns.

I won’t type out this recipe because I have done it before. The only thing that has changed is the size of the prawn. Tiger prawns are humungous! Well worth the hole I created in my wallet paying for these. I removed the legs and feelers only because those creep me out, but some people leave them on.  Marinated them in lemon juice and some spices then pan fried them.

I had to fight a little more than I did with the prince prawns to eat them but it was worth it. They would look awesome on skewers! I must grill them some time.

I could also deshell and behead them then coat and deep fry them the same way I did the calamari. Hmmmm…. *notes it down on to do list* 

Red cabbage salad

I’ve always walked right past red cabbages….until now. I saw two baby cabbage heads at Food Lovers market and couldn’t resist (mostly because they were cheap). Baby cabbage is ideal for me since I’m usually eating alone. Big cabbages are such a mission to finish before they rot on me.

I made a basic salad with them: grated carrots, shredded cabbage, chopped up roman cocktail tomatoes, some salt, vinegar and mayonnaise.  If that seems like too much you can also just add chopped onion, salt, vinegar and a light salad dressing to your shredded red cabbage.

I don’t know if it’s the deep red colour or the actual cabbage itself but there’s something awesome about red cabbages! It’s my new favourite thing. Plus they taste even better when left in the fridge over night (with vinegar not mayonnaise). The acidity of the vinegar really brings out the flavour. (Dammit! Now I sound like those tv chefs!)

 

Leave a Reply

