Banana cake or Banana bread?

on

I am not a fan of bananas. However, during my early tertiary years, I had a friend whose mum would make her banana cake as a mid morning snack and that banana cake is one of the best cakes I have ever tasted! I got the recipe from her but unfortunately the measurements are in grams and I only have measuring cups at the moment so I need to wait till I get the proper tools before trying it.

Instead I found a recipe for Banana cake on All recipes and tried that. I read a few reviews and most seemed to imply the recipe wouldn’t be what I was looking for but I decided to try it anyway. Recipe with changes is below:

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 2 1/8 cups white sugar (I reduced it to 2 cups)
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups buttermilk
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons dark rum
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups mashed bananas
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 3 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 275 degrees F (135 degrees C). Grease and flour a 9×13 inch pan. In a small bowl, mix mashed bananas with lemon juice and rum, set aside. In a medium bowl, mix flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, cream 3/4 cup butter and 2 1/8 cups sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in 2 teaspoons vanilla. Beat in the flour mixture alternately with the buttermilk. Stir in banana mixture. Pour batter into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 1 hour, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Remove from oven and place directly into freezer for 45 minutes. This will make the cake very moist.
  4. For the frosting: In a large bowl, cream 1/2 cup butter and cream cheese until smooth. Beat in 1 teaspoon vanilla. Add confectioners sugar and beat on low speed until combined, then on high until frosting is smooth. Spread on cooled cake.

I skipped the cream cheese frosting since I had double cream and plain yoghurt mix remaining from the carrot cake however it did not compliment the banana cake as well as it did the carrot cake.

This cake was quite disappointing for me. I wanted a texture similar to that of the pear cake I made sometime back. Thick, dense, moist and muffin like. This cake was thick but with a slight floury taste to it. It ended up being more of a banana bread than cake. It took forever to cook at the low temperature but I was patient. After baking it I put it into the fridge rather than the freezer. My friends mum’s recipe also calls for freezing too though so maybe missing that step was a significant mistake on my part.

I also added way too much cinnamon I think. I added 4 teaspoons (like the carrot cake requires) but I find that it’s too much for my taste buds in this cake. Reducing that will be a must if I use this recipe again.

However it was definitely a moist cake and not dry and if you like light cakes this is the recipe for you.

I will try this with butter and see if it lives up to its bread like texture then update the post. I will try make another banana cake using the Pear cake recipe by just replacing the pear with the crushed banana. If that fails I will buy the tools I need to make my friends mum’s banana cake. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

