Stir fries with my new wok

I bought myself a medium sized wok last weekend and have since gone stir fry crazy. I want to fry EVERYTHING! But I am struggling to resist the temptation.

However I have made two stir fries this past week. One being a mushroom and turkey sweet and sour stir fry and the second being a pork and beef creamy stir fry.

Pork sweet and sour stir fry 

Ingredients

  • sliced Turkey drumsticks chopped into small 1-2inch cubes/strips
  • halved cocktail tomatoes (or you can leave them whole depending on your preference)
  • One chopped onion
  • 125g sliced mushrooms
  • half a green pepper, chopped
  • half a red pepper, chopped
  • 3 tablespoons of sweet and sour sauce
  • 3 tablespoons of soy sauce
  • two tablespoons of butter

Method

  1. Melt 2 tablespoons of butter in the wok (or you can use oil if you prefer)
  2. Fry the turkey cube/strips till they start browning. You can either remove the meat from the wok to cooks the rest of the ingredients or leave them in, I prefer to leave the meat in.
  3. Add the onions, followed by the peppers, mushrooms and add the tomatoes last. I don’t like my tomatoes to be too mushy so I let them cook for the least time.
  4. Add the soy sauce and sweet and sour sauce, mix and serve.

Nice and easy!

Turkey and mushroom stir fry with pasta

Creamy beef and chicken stir fry

This doesn’t count really as a stir fry but it did start as one and for that reason I think it deserves a mention…

Initially I was attempting to make a beef & pork rum and orange stir fry (a recipe can be selected from here), but when I got half way I wasn’t pleased with the taste and decided to change the flavour by adding Chicken a la king cook in sauce. I mainly use the cook in sauce for chicken as it’s title suggests but I decided to improvise.

I chopped up some pork and beef….

seasoned pork and beef

Ingredients

  • chopped up beef cubes
  • chopped up pork cubes
  • half a chopped onion
  • cocktail tomatoes sliced in half
  • a cup of boiled mixed veggies (alternatively you can get stir fry frozen veggies)
  • half a green pepper, cut into strips
  • half a red pepper, cut into strips
  • half a yellow pepper, cut into strips
  • two tablespoons of butter

Method

  • As above I started with the meat first and then added the rest of the ingredients with the tomatoes being last.
  • I then mixed a packet of Royco Chicken a la king powder with about two cups of milk and added it to the stir fry. 
  • I stirred the mixture till it thickened up….
…. and served it with rice.

Prior to frying the meat I had seasoned it with lemon pepper, ginger, paprika and sage.

Those cook in sauces can fix ANY meal. Great for saving time too. They are always on my grocery list.

Leave a Reply

