Apple crumble

Everyone in my family associates Apple crumble with one person: my lovely aunt Grace. It’s her favourite dessert and she makes it whenever she visits or when we visit her. My family actually had never attempted to make it until my aunt suggested it. It so easy and I really don’t know why we don’t make it more often. White velvet cake (my mum’s favourite) and Apple crumble will always remind me of my family holidays with my Aunt and cousins.

I decided to make it this past weekend since I was feeling a bit homely. I followed a simple recipe from All Recipes. I had intended to make Apple pie initially because I had never done so but upon realising that I did not have enough pastry I decided to make Apple crumble instead. There’s only one difference between Apple pie and Apple crumble though, one is covered with pastry while the other is covered with a crumble made from a mix of flour, butter and sugar. I also found a recipe for Apple cobbler which seems to be related to the Apple pie save for a few differences. Here is an article that describes the differences clearly and provides links to recipes for each type.

Ingredients

  • 1 (9 inch) deep dish pie crust
  • 5 cups apples – peeled, cored and thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 6 tablespoons butter

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C.) Arrange apple slices in unbaked pie shell. Mix 1/2 cup sugar and cinnamon; sprinkle over apples.
  2. Mix 1/3 cup sugar with flour; cut in butter until crumbly. Spoon mixture over apples.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 35 to 40 minutes, or until apples are soft and top is lightly browned.

I bought my pie pastry because I currently don’t have the tools for making pastry (large glass/wooden chopping board and a rolling pin). I bought Pick and Pay no name puff pastry for 10 pula (just over $1). However if you would like to make your own pastry from scratch here’s a puff pastry recipe you can try.

I used golden delicious apples because I find Granny smiths a little too tart, golden delicious apples are a bit sweeter. I used brown sugar only rather than brown and white because I was trying to stay as close to my aunts recipe as possible.

Upon the suggestion of a reviewer on All recipes I added a quarter cup of flour to the apple mix to soak up some of the juices from the apples to stop the crumble base from getting too soggy. It was perfect! It wasn’t soggy and wasn’t too dry either. I did forget to brush the crust rim with milk though during the last 15 mins of baking so that came out a little dry.

I cut the apples into 4 quarters and then thinly sliced each one, the thinner the better. I also mixed the apples with the cinnamon and sugar before putting the apples into the pie pastry. Some reviewers suggested adding lemon juice to the apple mix and others added nutmeg as well.  I kept it quite basic though because that’s how my aunt makes it. However next time I may try the lemon juice addition.

I had it with ice cream however it’s lovely with custard or whipped cream as well. A nice simple quick desert!

Leave a Reply

