Black Magic chocolate cake

My friend was right. She suggested this recipe to me and yes! It. Is. Perfect. I hope my improper grammar emphasized that point!

I shall no longer search for recipes for chocolate cake! I must admit when I was going through the reviews on All Recipes.com not a single person had anything bad to say which I found odd. No one suggested reduction in ingredients, addition of ingredients, no complaints, nothing! So I made it following the instructions right down to the last full stop. And yes, believe the hype, this cake is that good. I gave some to my flatmate who went to eat it in her room; after one bite she returned to tell me how amazing it is and that it should be the only cake I ever make.

It’s moist, chocolaty (not cocoa-ey) with a lovely bite to it, soft and almost brownie like. It’s awesome. I think it has something to do with the coffee. Yes this chocolate cake has coffee in it and the coffee and the chocolate compliment each other so well! Later this week I plan to make it again and add chocolate chips or melted dark chocolate-I know absolutely sinful! One can also add flavored coffee to make it interesting.

Instructions are pretty straight forward:

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup strong brewed coffee (not a cup of coffee grain!I usually dilute 1-2 tablespoons of coffee in a cup of hot water)
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
 Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour two 9 inch round cake pans or one 9×13 inch pan.
  2. In large bowl combine flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Make a well in the center.
  3. Add eggs, coffee, buttermilk, oil and vanilla. Beat for 2 minutes on medium speed. Batter will be thin. Pour into prepared pans.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 30 to 40 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into center of cake comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes, then remove from pans and finish cooling on a wire rack. Fill and frost as desired.

I didn’t frost/ice it and frankly it can survive without it. I would warn against making the coffee too strong though lest it overpowers the cake.

The cake batter-Forgive the reflection of my camera flash.

The batter may seem too liquid and thin as the recipe states but it’s no cause to panic. It will still turn out awesome. I prefer to let it cool while covered which adds to the moistness of the cake. It is quite soft so resist the urge to take it out of the tin before it is absolutely cooled down. It sticks easily to the pan as well so be sure to grease&flour your pan excessively.

Perfect with a scoop of ice cream, a glass of milk, some whipped cream or on its own. The perfect chocolate cake!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

