Dinner with Dad at Chatters Restaurant (Cresta Lodge in Gaborone)

My lovely father is in town for a few days and he decided to treat me to dinner at the Cresta Lodge Chatters Restaurant. It was the perfect opportunity for me to try something new though I was tempted to go with the tried and trusted ribs or calamari and shrimp combo I decided to live on the wild side and get something random. So I picked Karoo lamb with a light gravy and mashed potatoes and a side of lightly steamed vegetables.

Karoo lamb with a light gravy, mashed potatoes and steamed vegetables

The lamb was very tender and easy to eat with a knife and fork (and hands for those who prefer to get ‘into it’). The gravy was perfect, not too spicy, actually slightly sweet and complimented the lamb well. The mashed potatoes were also a fabulous addition to the meal. My only issue was with the veggies. They were tooo crunchy for me, especially the carrots, otherwise all in all a lovely meal. I would definitely order it again.

Karoo lamb comes from sheep bred in the Karoo region of South Africa. The meat is said to have a unique taste in comparison to other types of lamb due to the sheep’s diet:

…scientific research has confirmed the prominence of ‘herbal’ flavours in Karoo lamb that are distinct and different from that of lamb from other regions and ascribe this to the unique grazing available in the Karoo. They’ve gone so far as to identify more than a dozen plants that are specific to the Karoo and the result has been an interesting development in the promotion and protection of one of South Africa’s latest origin based brands: Karoo Lamb.–The Month

Well since I have not had any lamb for a while I cannot really comment on the taste of normal lamb vs Karoo lamb but I’ll take their word for it. I definately enjoyed it, very tender and it was prepared well. I have never seen Karoo lamb in the stores here but I suppose that may be due to the fact that I wasn’t looking for it. Here is a Karoo lamb stew recipe for those who would like to give it a try.

My father, an avid fan of seafood ordered a shrimp and chicken curry served with rice.

Chicken and Shrimp curry and white rice

Being the sweet father that he is he gave me half the meal so I could exempt myself from slaving in the kitchen for at least one meal the following day. This dish is extremely spicy and hot, those who don’t like heat (like myself) may not appreciate it much. It has every spice under the sun in it I’m sure, with the prominent one being Tumeric which gives the yellow colour. I also tasted some cloves and herbs. I had to mix it with a little more plain white rice to stop my mouth from bursting into flames. Otherwise it’s a lovely dish, the mix of the shrimp and chicken works very well. I will try something similar in the future but a non spicy version. Here is a chicken and shrimp curry recipe for those feeling adventurous.

Leave a Reply

