Strawberry Cake

I have always wanted to try this type of cake because, well, I love strawberries! It seems ingenious to put them in a cake.

I obtained the recipe from All recipes as usual and read through the comments to make required adjustments that I will note below in the recipe.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups white sugar (I reduced this to 1 and 3/4 cups)
  • 1 (3 ounce/80 grams) package strawberry flavored gelatin (I substituted this with strawberry flavoured jelly powder)
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 4 eggs at room temperature
  • 2 3/4 cups sifted cake flour (I measured again after sifting)
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 cup whole milk at room temperature
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup strawberry puree made from frozen sweetened strawberries (tips on making puree are after the directions)

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour two 9 inch round cake pans. (I used one 9×13 inch pan)
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter, sugar and dry strawberry gelatin until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs one at a time, mixing well after each. Combine the flour and baking powder; stir into the batter alternately with the milk. Blend in vanilla and strawberry puree. Divide the batter evenly between the prepared pans.
    butter, sugar and jelly powder

    The cake batter, which tastes awesome by the way!
  3. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes in the preheated oven, or until a small knife inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Allow cakes to cool in their pans over a wire rack for at least 10 minutes, before tapping out to cool completely.

Tips

The eggs and milk must be at room temperature, it makes a difference in the way the cake comes out.

Because this cake is quite dense, it’s important to do all the things that can help make it lighter such as sifting the flour and remeasuring it, beating the sugar+jelly powder+butter misture till very light and fluffy, and seperating the egg whites and yolk and beating the whites till a soft peak holds. The yolks can be added in step two as the recipe states but the whites should be folded in by hand right at the end.

I made the puree with about 300 grams of fresh strawberries, by simply crushing them with  a potato masher and adding some sugar to taste. I do not have access to a blender currently so this was the next best method.

My strawberry puree. Excuse the bad quality of the photo!

The role of the gelatin/jelly powder according to my online research is to keep the cake moist. At first I felt that the cake had a rubbery texture because of it however if you let the cake sit at room temperature for some time it does soften up and practically melts in your mouth. The rubbery texture comes from it being refrigerated. However, since it is a fruit cake it has to be stored in the fridge so before serving let it sit at room temperature for 20-30 minutes.

I iced it with plain whipped cream and garnished with sliced strawberries. I also cut half the cake in half lengthwise and spread some left over puree in the middle. I prefer to do this just before it is eaten because the strawberry puree can dry out over time.

In the future I want to try the recipe again without gelatin/jelly and see if it makes a huge difference. I also want to replace the full cream milk with cream and add more strawberries to my puree.  However, I was quite pleased with this cake and so were my test subjects!

Yum!
Leave a Reply

