The search for the perfect chocolate cake (Part 2): Best Moist chocolate cake & Devils Food cake

Devils food cake was the first that I attempted when I began this best chocolate cake search and although I wasn’t extremely pleased with the results, it received good reviews from my family. With this recipe I followed instructions and ended up with a good sized light chocolate cake. Recipe below:

Ingredients 
185g/6oz butter
375g/12oz caster sugar
3 eggs
250g/8oz flour
60g/2oz cocoa powder
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
250ml millk
few drops red food colouring
155g/5oz raspberry/strawberry jam
icing sugar
cream filling: 125ml double cream & 90g dark chocolate (melted and cooled)

Method
1.place butter and caster sugar in a bowl and beat till light and fluffy.Gradually beat in eggs.
2.sift together flour, cocoa powder and baking powder over butter mixture. Add food coloring and milk and mix well to combine.
3.pour mixture into two 20 by 8cm tins (or one 9 by 13 inch tin) and bake at 180 degrees Celsius/Gas mark 4 for 45 min. Stand cakes in tins for 5 min then take out and leave to cool.
4.to make filling place cream in a bowl and beat till soft peaks form. Add melted dark chocolate.
5.To assemble cake place one cake on a serving plate, spread will jam and filling and place 2nd cake on top. Dust the top of the cake with icing sugar.

I didn’t have two tins so I used one. When the cake cooled I cut it in half myself and spread the jam only. I used the cream filling as icing instead and dusted it with cocoa and icing sugar. If you want a heavier chocolate cream, use double the amount of dark chocolate.

The Devils food cake a few days before my family finished it.

I have made it once since but it came out very thick and not light as it did on my first attempt. I attribute that to me not mixing it thoroughly.

And last but not least Best moist chocolate cake from All recipes.com. I carefully went through at least 4 pages of reviews for tips because this cake had people who either loved it or absolutely hated it. The main consensus seemed to be that the cake didn’t have enough chocolate flavour and was too thick. So following the advice I added more cocoa, added melted dark chocolate, replaced a cup of milk with cream and added half a cup of milk, replaced baking soda with baking powder and added extra sugar. Adjusted recipe is below:

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2  a cup of milk
  • 1 cup cream
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 8 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 90g melted dark chocolate
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
 Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 9×13 inch pan. Sift together the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the margarine and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Beat in the flour mixture alternately with the milk, mixing just until incorporated. Pour batter into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven for 40 to 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Allow to cool.

The batter of this cake is VERY smooth and silky, looks gorgeous before you’ve baked it,lol.

I made this cake twice in the same day, first in a 9×13 inch pan and the second time in a 8 inch round tin. Next time I shall stick to the 9×13 because it way too much for the round tin. I made the first cake for a friends kids birthday and chose to decorate it with white chocolate cream frosting and smiley marshmellows 🙂

Fun kiddie cake- My first attempt 🙂

I over mixed the second cake in addition to using a small tin so the edges crumbled when I removed it from the tin.

However the best thing about this cake is the texture. It’s soft and thick without being too fudgy which I like. It has enough chocolate flavour in it though I’d probably add more dark chocolate next time. If you store it in the fridge I suggest letting it get to room temperature before serving because it hardens up quite a bit in the fridge.

I put some left over white chocolate frosting on the cut pieces. So far all my test subjects (friends) have had nothing bad to say about this cake so it’ll be my go to chocolate cake recipe till it’s trumped by a better one. At the suggestion of  a friend I have been told to try the Black Magic Cake so that will be the next one.

Quick tip: When the cake is cooling lightly cover it with a piece of foil so that it stays moist and doesn’t dry out.

Leave a Reply

