Red Roman for dinner!

I went grocery shopping a few days ago and usually I always get Hake fillets,but this time something different caught my eye.It was red,shiny and cheap,perfect!
I’d never had Red Roman before so I thought why not? I love seafood so I’m always willing to try something new.

image

I decided to keep it simple so that I could appreciate the flavour of the fish. I seasoned it with ginger,lemon pepper, salt, sage and fish spice. Made sure to rub them into the flesh of the fish really well.
I diced some potatoes,chopped some carrots,onions,cocktail tomatoes and spread everything on a piece of foil in a roasting pan.I placed the fish on top and lightly covered everything with a piece of foil.

image

I also seasoned the potatoes,carrots and tomatoes with lemon pepper (which I must say has quickly become my favourite spice evar!) I spread a few tiny cubes of garlic butter throughout the dish as well rather than olive oil/vegetable oil. It took abt an hour to roast at 150 degrees C.

image

I made a ‘fish sauce’ out of mayonnaise,thick cream and sage.
It was absolutely heavenly! I can’t wait to make this again!!! I think I’ll become a regular Red Roman buyer from now on.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Nangamso says:

    I’m so excited I found your food blog! *happy dance* I’m always looking for new recipes to try out and its great to see an African blog on food! Whenever I google recipes I always come across American or European blogs. The blog which I visit regularly is Divas Can Cook & that’s about it. Will definitely subscribe to your blog!

    1. Ms Z. says:

      *Happy dance* Thanks! I’m not a chef or anything but I hope I entertain or inspire you to try something nonetheless! Will check out Divas can cook and try find some more african food blogs for you.

Leave a Reply

