Royco Creamy Beef Stroganoff cook in sauce: Chicken liver stroganoff

on

Quick and easy are the words I live by in the kitchen as a student. No one does quick and easy like Royco cook in sauces. Mind you given my laziness and student life I have tried numerous cook in sauces!

Most of the time I either don’t have time or the ingredients needed to make the particular dish so cook in sauces come in handy. Not all cook in sauces are created equal! I don’t like the liquid ones because the taste is always slightly altered, plus sometimes they come with veggies like mushrooms or peas and I prefer to add fresh ones. The powder Royco cook in sauces are perfect in my humble opinion. You just add milk or water for most of them. The best Royco cook in sauces that I use often are the Mild Thai Curry, Chicken A la King, Cheesy fish bake, Creamy fish bake and of course the creamy beef stroganoff.

I am not really a fan of beef though so I decided to try something different with some left over creamy beef stroganoff cook in sauce powder that I had.

I found a recipe on All Recipes for Chicken liver stroganoff and I didn’t have any of the sauce making ingredients (sherry and sour cream) so I just decided to use the cook in sauce instead. The original recipe is below:

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 pound chicken livers, rinsed and trimmed
  • 2 cups chopped onion
  • 4 ounces sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 1 tablespoon paprika
  • 1/3 cup dry sherry
  • 1 1/2 cups sour cream
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 (12 ounce) package medium egg noodles

Directions

  1. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add noodles, and cook until tender, about 8 minutes. Drain, and set aside.
  2. While the noodles are getting started, heat olive oil in a large heavy skillet. Add onions, and cook, stirring until tender, about 5 minutes. Add mushrooms, and continue cooking for a few minutes, until starting to brown. Add the chicken livers, and season with paprika, salt and pepper. Cook for 8 to 10 minutes, until livers are nicely browned on the outside, but still slightly pink in the center. Do not over cook – the livers will become tough and leathery.
  3. Remove the skillet from the heat, and gradually whisk in the sherry, then the sour cream until well blended. Serve over hot egg noodles.

In my version I used elbow pasta rather than noodles, green onions, red pepper and mushrooms.

liver, green onions, red pepper and mushrooms.

I didnt have paprika so I used a steak and chop spice instead. After frying the livers as directed I added half a packet of Royco beef stroganoff cook in sauce with half a cup of milk and a little water.

I lowered the heat and stirred it till it thickened up and that was it! super quick and easy!

I had the liver with pasta and a salad.

When I get my hands on some sherry and sour cream I’ll try the original recipe. But until then this works just as well! šŸ™‚

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

