Favorites: New York Cheesecake

on

I love Cheesecake and I have always wondered how the hell they make it. A few years ago I found a recipe and gave it a wack but failed miserably. However upon the suggestion of a friend I tried another recipe recently and so far I am yet to mess it up. I’ve made this cake about  4 times now and it already has dedicated fans 🙂 Quite proud of maself! Whenever I offer to bake now, I’m always told to bake a Cheesecake.

The recipe was taken from All Recipes which is where most of my recipes come from. Whenever you want to try something I suggest you browse All Recipes for ideas.

If you’ve ever hunted for cheesecake recipes online you will notice that there are billions of ways to make a cheesecake, no two recipes are the same. I have also made a tiny adjustment to Chantal’s New York cheesecake recipe but you can follow the original if you wish.

Ingredients

  • 15 graham crackers, crushed (I find that this is waaay too much so I use about 6 crackers or so)
  • 4 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 4 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup sour cream (Personally I use 1 cup of double/single cream)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
 Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 9 inch springform pan.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix graham cracker crumbs with melted butter. Press onto bottom of springform pan.
  3. In a large bowl, mix cream cheese with sugar until smooth. Blend in milk, and then mix in the eggs one at a time, mixing just enough to incorporate. Mix in sour cream/double cream/single cream, vanilla and flour until smooth. Pour filling into prepared crust.
    This particular time I had no white sugar so I used brown sugar instead

  4. Bake in preheated oven for 1 hour. Turn the oven off, and let cake cool in oven with the door closed for 5 to 6 hours; this prevents cracking. Chill in refrigerator until serving.

    This was my first attempt and it cracked quite badly because I opened the oven before the 5 hours were up, I was quite impatient! 🙂

I first used double cream because sour cream was unavailable and that completely changed the taste of the cake! It was creamier and absolutely delicious! But I must warn you it is quite a rich cake. If cream overload isn’t your thing, stick to the sour cream route.

If it’s your first time trying it, don’t be deterred by liquidity of the cake batter, it is supposed to be that consistency. Just stick to the recipe and you will be fine. This recipe is fool proof really, it is impossible to get wrong!

The base may come out a little soggy so it is suggested that you put the baking tin lined with crackers in the oven for 15 mins before pouring in the batter so that you have a more solid crust. One can also add nutmeg or cinnamon to the crust for flavor.

The batter is too much for a small round tin so you may end up making two cakes. However if you have a 9inch baking tin, it will hold all the batter.

After it cools I decorate it with whipped cream and pineapple pieces. I love the combination of the two. Strawberries or any other soft fruit of your choice will work just as well. The whipped cream is not a must, alternatively you can just serve the cake with a side of cream rather than spreading it on top of the cake. Chocolate sauce will also be a lovely addition.

I am yet to fix the cracking and sinking problem however there are numerous tips on how to avoid both. The top suggestions I have found are

  1. Use a springform pan lined with foil on the outside of the bottom of the tin to prevent leaking
  2. Bake it in a water bath (a big roasting tray filled with water)
  3. Do not open the oven until the 5 hours is up. If you want to take it out immediately after baking for one hour, let it cool in the fridge instead
  4. Do not over beat the mixture, having all ingredients at room temperature to begin with helps.
I don’t mind the cracking much though because a topping can fix that. However I do not like the way it sinks. So when I solve that conundrum I shall update this recipe.

Leave a Reply

