Sweet tooth: Pink coconut cream cake

on

I used to love baking as a child, or at least I used to love ‘helping’ my mum bake just so my sister and I could lick the batter from the bowl when she was done. I’ve never really been a cake fiend, more often than not I just enjoy the process of baking and being successful more than eating the cake itself-my family certainly love that about me.

I’m pretty sure every house has a go to cake recipe, my mum’s used to be Madeira cake and has recently changed to White velvet cake and Carrot cake. Personally I favour chocolate cake-any chocolate cake! But given my mission to try new things I’m forcing myself to be a little more adventurous. I decided to start with easy ones to gain confidence then gradually increase the complexity as I go along.

Coconut cream cake is ridiculously easy! Anyone can make it and it’s super moist. The recipe is from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 1 (16 ounce) package white cake mix
  • 1 (14 ounce) can cream of coconut
  • 1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 (16 ounce) container frozen whipped topping, thawed
  • 1 (10 ounce) package flaked coconut

Directions

  1. Prepare cake according to package directions. Bake in a 9×13 inch pan. Cool completely.
  2. In a small bowl combine cream of coconut and condensed milk.
  3. Poke holes in cake with a straw. Pour milk mixture over cake and spread with whipped topping. Sprinkle coconut over cake.
  4. Serve chilled.

After some extensive comment reading and looking at other similar recipes I adjusted the recipe to my liking as follows:

  • I add a little red food coloring to the cake mix to give the cake a pink colour
  • I use coconut milk instead of normal milk in the cake recipe
  • I make a creamy coconut mix out of half a cup of coconut milk and half a cup of double cream (replacing the condensed milk), you can also use cream of coconut instead of coconut milk.
  •  After the cake cools I first cut it in half (this is the long way round, you can also just bake in two separate tins) and spread one and a half cans of crushed pineapple on top of the bottom half of the cake.
  • Then I pour half the creamy coconut mix on top of the crushed pineapple being careful not to put so much that the cake ends up soggy.
  • I place to top half of the cake on top, poke holes with the straw as instructed and pour the rest of the creamy coconut mix on the cake targeting the holes.
  • Then as instructed I spread the top of the cake with whipped cream and sprinkle with desiccated coconut. (I sometimes leave this step out)

The result is a delicious creamy light coconut cake. The coconut flavor is not as strong as you think it will be and the pineapple adds a yummy twist. My family absolutely loves this cake. Even a friend of mine who hates coconuts accepted defeat and admitted its a good cake.

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ivory says:

    love the idea of using coconut milk and cream instead of the condensed milk!

    1. Ms Z. says:

      Yeah the condensed milk was a failure the first time i did it. It was too sweet and I had loads left over which I ended up throwing away.

Leave a Reply

