Pad Thai and Deep fried pork ribs

As I mentioned before, I have a weak spot for Asian food so a friend of mine and I decided to indulge in the culinary delights offered by a Thai restaurant at the African Mall.

Being my friends first time having Thai food we decided to have an entry level dish: Pad Thai with deep fried pork ribs. I was introduced to Pad Thai by a Korean friend and ever since I’ve been more adventurous with the menu’s at Asian restaurants. If my purse allows I try to order at least one thing I have never tried before rather than sticking to the known dishes.

Pad Thai is Thai style noodles. Having looked through a few recipes online, I find that it will always look and probably taste different depending on who makes them and the ingredients one prefers. The basic ingredients however are  rice noodles with eggs, fish sauce, tamarind juice, red chili pepper, plus any combination of bean sprouts, shrimp, chicken, or tofu, garnished with crushed peanuts, coriander and lime juice. If you want to give the recipe a try at home, here’s one worth trying; Pad Thai recipe. The main reason I haven’t tried it is the difficulty in finding some of the ingredients, I think I would need to visit the hidden Asian grocery stores.

This particular Pad Thai was made with tofu and the chili powder was not mixed with the dish, it was put on the side so that one could add according to his/her liking.

Pad Thai takeaway

The deep fried pork ribs as well as Pad Thai are a common street food in Thailand. The ribs also come with a sweet chilli sauce for dipping.

Deep fried pork ribs
Sweet chili sauce and chili powder

The meal was just filling enough for two. I found the pork ribs a little salty- I’m sure that was the fault of the chef rather than the dish itself- but it was definitely something different; tasted a little like weird chicken wings. Here’s a pork rib recipe if you wanna try it. In terms of cost it was a little on the pricey side as is the case with most Asian restaurants here. The Pad Thai was 36 pula (5 dollars/3 pounds) and The fried pork ribs were 60 pula (8 dollars/5 pounds).

Pad Thai has become one of my favorite type of noodles and I will definitely be having them again. As for the pork ribs, they were alright but next time I’ll probably opt for a roasted version or a chicken dish.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Lebone Thebe says:

    Hey…just wondering where can i find this “hidden” Asian store? Do they also have Korean food ingredients?

    1. Brandy says:

      Most of the Asian grocery stores I know of are in the area near The Oriental plaza (in block 8 if my memory serves me correct). I know of at least 2 there.

Leave a Reply

