A bit of Asia: Plain fried rice and Teriyaki chicken

I LOVE Asian food so recreating the restaurant dishes at home is one of my favorite past times though its still a work in progress. What I have mastered though is plain fried rice and Teriyaki chicken. At this rate I think I am on my way to discover 101 different recipes for roasting chicken (by the way the only difference between baking and roasting is the food you are cooking; baking is for cakes and such while roasting is for meats).

Teriyaki chicken is very easy to make and has such a unique flavor I never get bored of it. The recipe is as follows:

Teriyaki Chicken

Ingredients

  • a whole chicken cut up into pieces or a whole chicken cut in half
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

Directions

  1. Rinse chicken halves, and pat dry with paper towels. Place chicken cut side down in a baking dish.
  2. In a medium mixing bowl, combine sugar, soy sauce, grated ginger and garlic. Mix well, and pour mixture over chicken. Cover and refrigerate for at least 3 hours.
  3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  4. Bake chicken uncovered in the preheated oven for 1 hour, basting frequently. Test for doneness, making sure there is no pink left in the meat. Let cool slightly, then cut into smaller pieces to serve.

I usually use chicken pieces because I rarely roast a whole chicken at a time as I’m normally cooking for myself. I don’t strictly adhere to the refrigerating step because I’m often in a hurry however the taste is just as awesome whether the chicken is left in the fridge or not. Since I cook a couple pieces at a time I tend to just use my personal judgement on how much of the ingredients to use. The chicken is sweet yet has kick to it courtesy of the soy sauce and ginger, yummy stuff!

Teriyaki Chicken

As for the fried rice I keep it basic because the meat is already part of the dish.

Plain Fried rice

Ingredients

  • 4 cups of Cooked rice
  • 2 cups of assorted chopped vegetables (I favor the McCain French stir fry)
  • Quarter cup of soy sauce
  • Diced garlic
  • 2 eggs beaten (as the quantity of rice increases, increase the eggs)
  • Half a chopped green onion

Directions

  1. Heat some oil in a wok or large frying pan, add egg and scramble. Move egg over and add green onions to the pan; saute for about a minute. Add the vegetables to the pan and let them fry for about a minute. Stir in the rice, add garlic and soy sauce. Toss until mixture is well blended and heated through.

Feel free to experiment with ingredients for your fried rice. If you add any kind of meat make sure you fry it first as it takes longer to cook than the other ingredients. Serve with a side of salad and enjoy! 🙂

Plain fried rice and Teriyaki chicken
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

