Pork n’ wine

I’ve done this recipe a couple of times but I keep forgeting to take pics so I implore y’all to try it out and send me a pic 🙂

I got the recipe from here and adjusted it to my liking. Although measurements are stated I don’t always follow them, I usually just follow my instincts.

Ingredients

  • 8 pork fillet medallions, each 75g (cut up chops or small pork chops work just as well)
  • 55 g butter
  • salt, and freshly ground pepper
  • 175 g button mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 shallots/onions, thinly chopped
  • 50 ml dry sherry (I don’t always add this because I rarely buy it)
  • 50 ml dry white wine (I prefer using sweet white wine)
  • 125 ml double cream
  • 1 tbsp parsley, chopped

Method

1. Heat the butter in a heavy-based frying pan.

2. Add in the pork medallions, fry for 2-3 minutes on each side.

3. Season with salt and freshly ground pepper and fry until the pork is cooked through, taking care not to over-cook it.

4. Remove the pork from the pan and keep warm.

5. Add the mushrooms to the frying pan and fry until slightly coloured.

6. Add in the shallots/onions, mixing well.

7. Drain off the excess fat and add in the sherry. Cook briskly until reduced by two-thirds.

8. Add in the white wine and cook briskly until reduced by half.

9. Add in the cream and bring to the boil. Season with salt and freshly ground pepper and mix in the parsley.

10. Pour the mushroom cream sauce over the pork and enjoy!

I usually just use half a cup of cream and half a cup of sweet white wine.

You can also add the pork to the sauce when its ready and let it simmer for a minute or two.

Cream, mushrooms and white wine, what else do you need? 🙂

Leave a Reply

