Fish and mango curry

IMG_8474Mango is a much loved fruit in Malawi so it makes sense that my parents are huge mango lovers though that gene somehow skipped my sister and I. We can eat them but I’ll take sweet melon, watermelon or plums any day over a mango, blasphemous I know. They are in season now in southern Africa so one does not have to go far to find a mango.

My father made a request for a dish that used the mangoes we had at home to make things more interesting rather than having them as a snack as we always do. I’m always up for a challenge! After all, that is why this blog exists. I started by adding it to a salad for one of our meals then decided to kick it up a notch by making a curry with it. Recipes were easy to find online but I thought I’d keep it fairly simple by making a yogurt curry  which I have made before but using fish. Recipe below!

Ingredients

  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 onion
  • 1 mango (or 2, you can never have too much!)
  • 4 filleted fish of your choice (I used Hake)
  • 250ml plain yogurt
  • Spices of your choice (I used tumeric,black pepper, white pepper, curry powder, garlic powder, mixed herbs and cinnamon)
  • a cup of water

Method

  1. Chop up the onion, peppers and tomato. Fry the onions and peppers till half cooked through.??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????
  2. Add the spices and fry till fragrant.
  3. Add half a cup of water then follow with the yogurt.??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????
  4. Add the fish. You can fry it before hand to save time or simply let it cook at this stage. You can also opt to cut it up or let it separate while it cooks. Because fish fillet tends to be fleshy and soft, it will break up while it boils.???????????????????????????????
  5. Let the curry simmer on medium heat for 5 minutes or until the fish is cooked through. Add the remaining water if needed.
  6. Add the mango pieces before the fish is fully cooked.???????????????????????????????
  7. When the fish is done, remove from heat and serve hot! Be sure to taste the curry beforehand in case the spices need adjusting. ???????????????????????????????

I served the fish and mango curry with plain rice and I loved it! It was a tad bit too hot for my parents though. I made the mistake of not filleting the fish so the bones were a bit of an annoyance. I think whole fish would still work in this recipe as long as it’s not a very soft fish like hake. IMG_8465

I do realize that my preferred spices change from curry to curry and that’s because my choices are based on what is available in my spice cupboard. Feel free to seek out a specific curry spice recipe or to go with the wind as I do. Just remember to taste and adjust!

???????????????????????????????

