Jamie Oliver’s quick coconut dumplings

My sister is also an avid cooking fanatic (though she favors baking to general cooking) so when I was at home this holiday I let her do most of the hard work while I simply took pictures and ate when she was done, awesome. She also made me these cute purple velvet cupcakes to welcome me home! How lucky am I?!IMG_8337

She watches a lot of Food Network shows and that is how she came about this particular recipe for coconut dumplings. It’s very easy and requires literally 3 ingredients and a steamer, that’s it! At home we tend to pair it with some kind of stew. Recipe and instructions are below.

Ingredients

  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 2 cans self raising flour (measured with the empty coconut milk can)
  • a pinch of salt

Method

  1. Put the coconut milk, flour and salt in a bowl and combine with a wooden spoon till the mixture comes together. Alternatively you can use a processor to do the work for you. ???????????????????????????????
  2. Add extra flour if needed to make a manageable dough. ??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????Separate into even sized lumps that fit into muffin cups and place into the steamer.??????????????????????????????? The dumplings should cook within 15 minutes.???????????????????????????????

And that’s it! Really simple. The flavor is very basic, after all you only have 2 main ingredients. However my family loves them because they don’t take long and can pretty much go with anything. In this instance we had them with beef stew and spinach.IMG_8356

