Chicken tikka masala curry

As promised here is a recipe using the tikka masala paste that I bought from Spar.

I picked up the recipe from the bottle, I figure the manufacturers know their spice paste best. It was a very simple recipe, one that you could come up with on your own really, I find that curry recipes tend to be quite flexible once you get the basics down.

I wasn’t too fussy about the measurements though I probably should be and I broke the rules by adding my own spices rather than relying on the tikka masala paste alone and not using yogurt (I wasn’t able to get any and didn’t want to wait till I could). And then of course I balanced the flavour by following my taste buds. I also did not marinade and grill the chicken before making the tikka masala curry which is a big rule to break but I was following the bottle recipe and it did not require me to do so. I’m ok with this though because it means I can try the recipe again and from scratch too with no paste.

Ingredients

  • chicken pieces (chopped up chicken breast or regular pieces)
  • 2 chopped peppers (green, red, yellow etc)
  • 1 onion (chopped)
  • 4-5 tomatoes (chopped)
  • some fresh basil (chopped)
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic (optional)
  • some oil for frying
  • salt
  • spices (optional)
  • 250ml fresh cream
  • 250ml plain yogurt
  • tikka masala curry paste

Method

  1. The recipe says you fry the onions, garlic and peppers first however I always opt to start by frying the meat in case there is a lot of water in the meat. After the water has evaporated and the chicken begins to brown I add the onion, peppers and garlic.???????????????????????????????
  2. Add the spices, salt and tikka masala paste, stir and let the spices warm through.???????????????????????????????
  3. Add the tomatoes, basil, cream and yogurt and cover to gently simmer at medium to low heat till it thickens.???????????????????????????????
  4. When the chicken is done (regular pieces will take 20-30 minutes while chopped chicken breast pieces will be ready in 10-15 minutes) remove from heat and serve warm.??????????????????????????????? Make sure to taste the curry to ensure it’s not too spicy, add more tomatoes and cinnamon if it is.

I had my chicken tikka masala curry with red rice. In terms of flavor I wasn’t too blown away by the tikka masala paste and I added double what the recipe required! I think it works better as a marinade for meat rather than as a paste to base a whole curry on. Either that or I need to buy the extra hot version.???????????????????????????????

You will also note from the pictures that my curry was not as thick as most chicken tikka masala’s are and that’s because I had no yogurt, it would have been much thicker had I also used yogurt. Overall though, it was a decent curry for those of us who do not have expert curry taste buds yet!

???????????????????????????????I have another curry recipe to post soon that I am quite excited about! Fish and mango curry, keep checking the blog for that one! And of course, I shall try thisĀ chicken tikka masala curry recipe from scratch in the future too.

Finally before I forget…

Happy new year to all my readers and fellow amateur (and not so amateur) cooks!!! Wishing you a year of more tasty adventures!