Mel’s Peaches and cream cake

Upon the suggestion of a friend of a friend on Facebook I decided to give this recipe a try because the photos looked really good on the website and it had peaches and cream cheese as ingredients, what more does one need?

The cake is structured in 3 layers: the base is a plain vanilla cake, the middle is sliced peaches and the top is a cream cheese mix. The recipe is from Mels Kitchen Cafe, simply follow this link to the website for detailed instructions: http://www.melskitchencafe.com/2011/05/peaches-and-cream-cake.html

However I will roughly go through what I did below as I slightly changed a couple things. The recipe calls for an 850g tin of sliced peaches (or 2 450g tins) however I opted to use fresh peaches instead. I bought just under 800g worth of fresh peaches. Since the fruits are weighed in supermarkets this should be easy to do. I didn’t want to count the peaches because sizes tend to vary. I then peeled, cored and sliced them.

It was a tedious exercise but I prefer to use fresh fruit for baking when I can. The peaches I used were firm and were slightly sour but they still came out tender and the sweetness of the desert itself masked the sourness of the peaches. However I did soak the peaches in the diluted syrup I made while I prepared the rest of the ingredients.

I made the diluted syrup using a couple tablespoons of golden syrup mixed with about a cup of water and a couple teaspoons of sugar. I adjusted it according to my taste. This diluted syrup took the place of the tinned syrup that comes with the canned peaches. Alternatively you can use milk, cream or plain water, it’s up to you.

Ingredients

Cake:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose/cake flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar (I used normal sugar instead)
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 4 1/2 tablespoons vegetable oil

Peaches and Topping:

  • 700-800g fresh peaches
  • 2 225g (2 tubs) cream cheese, light or regular, softened to room temperature
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar (I used castor sugar instead)
  • 6 tablespoons diluted syrup/syrup from the tin
  • Cinnamon and sugar for sprinkling

Directions 

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F/180 degrees C. Lightly grease a 9X13-inch baking pan and set aside.
  2. In a medium or large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, salt, sugar and cornstarch. Blend. Make a well in the center and add the vanilla, eggs, milk and oil. Whisk together until well combined. Spread the batter evenly in the prepared pan.
  3. Slice the peaches into bite-sized pieces, scattering them over the top of the batter evenly. In a medium bowl, beat the cream cheese, sugar and reserved peach juice together until light and creamy. Dollop the cream cheese mixture in tablespoon-sized spoonfuls over the top of the batter and peaches and then use a spatula to evenly spread together to form a creamy layer. It doesn’t have to be perfect, just try to spread it as evenly over the top as possible (it’s ok if peaches are peeking through in spots). Sprinkle the top of the cream cheese layer generously with cinnamon and sugar.
  4. Bake for 45-60 minutes until the edges are puffed and golden and the cream cheese layer has bubbled slightly on top. This is a difficult cake to test for doneness because of the gooey cream cheese layer.I suggest leaving a corner of the baking tin uncovered with the cream cheese mixture so that you can test it for doneness. Also lightly shaking the baking tin to see if the mixture is still jiggly is an option. If the batter jiggles it is not ready yet. Serve warm or at room temperature.

My flat mates and I were so excited to try it I forgot to take a picture before eating it….

Although the base of the tin looks burnt it actually wasn’t. This desert is simply divine and melts in your mouth when eaten warm. The fruit gets quite hot so resist the urge to eat it before it cools or you shall burn your poor tongue!

I can see this recipe working for pineapples, pears, apricots and maybe even apples. I want to try a pineapple version next.

It doesn’t need any whipped cream or custard because the cream cheese layer acts like icing or frosting already. It has gotten good reviews from everyone who has tried it so far and my flatmates are already wondering when I’ll make it again….

Simply delicious. Thank you Mel!

